Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How to build a tank stand

Hi,

My name is Mark...and Im a nooB! lol

Ive been doing all kinds of research on DIY stands. I found a couple good links for bigger stands..but havnt been finding too many in the 65 gallon tank stands. If people could post their plans and or pics of home made stands, that would be amazing. The tank measures 48" long...and 13" wide. I plan on just using pine and staining it black.

Thanks in advance...everyone has been really helpfull.

Mark

You can always use the design of the stands you have seen and just change the size of the lumber used and reduce the dimensions.
    Rob

liv
    you can use 2x4 doubled or 2x6's. my 130g was on 2x6's.
    but at 65g, why not get one at the store ( the steel frames )? and simply add wood to it ? simpler and you would have more room inside. thats what i would do if i had a tank with those dimentions. I still prefer steel to wood.

Anyone know how much the steel frames are?

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    BigAl's Montreal usually has great prices on steel frames.

oh, and here's an interesting site I recently stumbled upon for DIY stands...
    http://www.fishandtips.com/index.php
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Here is a picture of my 90g stand, made from 2x4 and 4x4 then painted with CIL Bathroom latex.[IMG][/IMG]
    I put 2 - 2x4's verticaly on each corner (againts the outside of the 4x4 and flush with the top and base 2x4's) after this shot was taken to support the top.