Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    80

    Auto-top off with no electricity?

    Any plumbing experts? Would this work? Just an idea when I was in the study. :wink5:

    Would the unit inside the toilet function if the water going in was low pressure? See my basic drawing.

    Thanks,
    Adam

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    I'm not sure what a toilet has to do with it but from what I see there the set up would work by gravity feed as long as the output is below the holding tank. It dose not matter that the supply line is coming up from the bottom.
    Rob

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Alexandria, VA moving to Montreal
    Posts
    646
    Just buy a float valve. Simple, cheap, and made for this purpose. I use one made my Kent. They sell them on this site:

    http://aquariacanada.com/osCommerce/...roducts_id=354

    I fill my 50 gallon RO/DI storage container up once a week and let gravity and the little valve take care of the water level in the sump. I am good for at least 2 weeks of unattended top-off if I am away from home.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    80
    Thanks Bvoss, I have never seen one of those before, essentially the same thing in minature.

    If this is so small, cheap and simply why do I see so many theads about electric/eletronic systems?

    OSD the toilet part would be in the sump, it stops the water coming in when the plastic ball is raised to a certain level.

    I'm in the research stage, I've almost bought the house to go around my new tank. :wink5:

  5. #5
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Quote Originally Posted by AdamR
    If this is so small, cheap and simply why do I see so many theads about electric/eletronic systems?
    Cuz in this hobby we all like to spend money! :biglaugh2

    Seriously, with the auto-top units that are electronic, there is no need to have the water container to be above the tank....thus, no gavity flow. My top-off container is a 23g plastic garbage container sitting 4 feet away on the floor. Gravity flow would not work with that.
    Plus, part of the 'auto top-off' that is often discussed here also involves having the RO/DI automatically controlled to keep ro/di water in the top off container. Thus, I never have to manually fill the container.

    Guess it really boils down to the level of automation (level of convinence) that you're willing to pay to have.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Alexandria, VA moving to Montreal
    Posts
    646
    Most people do not have room to put the RO storage above the tank. If you can do it, gravity is the way to go.

    One problem you will have is overflowing your storage container when you forget to turn your RO/DI unit off. Everybody does this dumb trick over and over again. I use a single float switch and a solenoid to turn mine off when I forget.

  7. #7
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Well, I've done that more than once.
    My ro/di is now completely automated, so it will never happen again.
    But in case technology fails, my ro/di overflows to a drain. And will soon have an alarm hooked up (once I find a decent float switch) to warn me that the ro/di hasn't turned off like it should.
    But it'll never happen anyways right.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    80
    Thanks guys! This si why I like this forum so much. Ask a silly question and get a few good ideas. :smile3:

  9. #9
    Senior Member Bonaqua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    459
    PWALL, even if you have the storage container on the floor, you can still use this float vlave with a small pressure pump in betwen.
    Pressure pump comes on only when the float valve is open.

Similar Threads

  1. Electricity Costs??
    By john rock in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 02:38 AM
  2. electricity in my water.. and i love fluke meters!
    By liv in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 03:33 AM
  3. Electricity advice for computer Fan
    By zeke in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2004, 12:24 AM
  4. Is there any way to check electricity discharge in aquariums?
    By volitan in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 12:16 PM
  5. Calculate your Electricity cost of your tank!
    By Toooloud in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2003, 12:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •