Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Auto Top-off

  1. #1
    Senior Member CanadianGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    638

    Auto Top-off

    I've heard of people using a sealed container and an air pump to top off their tanks.

    All you need is a float switch, an air pump, a sealed container(a 2 litre bottle maybe) and some airline. You run line from the pump to the top of the bottle, then another airline that goes to the bottom of the bottle then into the tank. The float switch turns on the airpump, which then pressurizes the bottles and forces water into the tank.

    Obviously it would only work on a small tank. I'm setting up nano tank and I think this would work well for me. I already have air pumps gathering dust all over the place and all I would need to buy is a float switch.

    What do you guys think?
    James...

    "Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE

  2. #2
    Senior Member Aqua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    253
    It will work. Also it will work on larger tank if you get 5g water bottle or some larger container that you can seal.
    I will suggest that you get output of your top off water directly on the switch so any salt creep build up will be dissolved with fresh water. That way it is less likely switch will get stack and get all the water in your tank.
    Just my 2 cents.
    Man that goes to bed with itchy butt, wakes up with stinky finger!
    -Confusious



  3. #3
    Senior Member CanadianGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    638
    Thanks Aqua! Great idea...I was wondering what I could do to keep down the salt creep. Do you think just a normal air pump will it have enough pressure to work in a 5g bottle?? I think it's called a Maxima? I don't remember off-hand who makes them. I switched all my tanks over to a central linear pump a few months ago so the old ones are just laying around.

    Any tips on where I can get a float switch?
    James...

    "Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE

  4. #4
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    CanadianGuy,

    I could build ya one for $60.

    I built one for Johnny, and I've had mine running for a year now.
    http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...8573#post18573
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    Cool CANADIAN GUY

    I highly recommend TANG MANS setup as its not just a switch but rather changes the voltage going to the switch and you just have to plug in your airpump/powerhead. Some people wire there switches directly but There are many cases documented were eventually the switch fails as the contacts don't like all that arcing from the 120v. Plus! if anything ever went wrong with the switch you wouldn't be electricuted as theres only around 12v at the switch. You could also do what I'm setting up and just throw a powerhead in a RUBBERMAID can with tubing to the refugium/tank/nano and a TANG MAN float setup. Easy as pie! plug&play. the way I like things

  6. #6
    Senior Member CanadianGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    638
    It sounds perfect, but I don't know about spending $60 for a switch...I'm sure it's worth it I just need to make sure I have everything else for the tank first.

    The only reason I planned on using the air pump was because I have so many laying around, and I wouldn't need to buy another powerhead.

    I'll defiantely keep you in mind tho tang man...once the dust settles I'm sure I'll want one.
    James...

    "Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE

  7. #7
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Sure thing!
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    29
    Hey Tang man

    how do you take orders if your mail box is full?

    carrier pigeon?

    Paul

    my 175reef www.oceansmotions.reef.htm

  9. #9
    Senior Member heniochus18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    118
    HEY Paul -

    Your reef link doesn't work!

  10. #10
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    heniochus18,

    Here, this will help..
    http://www.oceansmotions.com/reef.htm

    Paul, beautiful setup!! Sorry about my maibox. I've cleaned it out now and PM'd you.

    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. auto top off
    By iswearitsformydaughter in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 10:47 PM
  2. DIY Auto top-off
    By SnelgroveReefer in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 03:28 PM
  3. Auto Top Off Unit
    By Nobez in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 02-10-2006, 06:04 PM
  4. Auto Top Off
    By ShipWreck in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 08:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •