DIY metal halide ballasts

Looking for huge bang for your buck? Here is what I've been doing for the past 5 years. I buy my bare ballasts at Litemore or Nedco. Typically a 250 or 400 watt ballast is about $65. I mount the ballast(s) in a $10 Canadian tire red toolbox. You can buy rubber lamp cord for the output to mogul socket and 6' extension cord to cut off the female end for your power input. You need a few electrical grommets and a green lee 1" punch for making holes in the toolbox.
     Upper valley hydoponics will sell you an electrical box with a ceramic mogul socket. They also have some excellent reflector material there. I would suggest always mounting metal halides in the horizontal mode for better light transmission. The reflector serves also as a heat shield if you use a wood canopy.
     You should use a fan to cool your bulb(s). This increases the service life of your expensive bulbs which is typically about 12-14 months. The 4" Radio Shack fan at about $40 is the best as it is very quiet and rebuildable as seen in other posts. Always have the fan blowing into your hood. This prevents salt creep from destroying your fan.
     If you exclude canopy costs you can have a $100 metal halide bulb installed for about $240.
    From the latest Lee Valley catalogue " a 1000 watt halide's output equals 500 40 watt flourescent tubes". For marine applications you cannot get the intensity with even VHO or PC.
    Another tip is you should have a switch mounted for each Halide ballast for convinience.
     Any other thoughts about DIY metal halide setups out there?
    True Perc

ijo

Re: DIY metal halide ballasts

Percula... that was awesome..  

You have any pics of the light setup you just described?

If you don't mind and I end up at your place for some reason or another (probably a drop off), maybe I could bring a digital camera and take some pics of your setup. 8)

Thanks again for the great DIY info.

IJO