Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    149

    automatic top off

    need some help making a automatic top off let me knoow if u can help
    ABCDFISHMRNOTFISHSMRCDBDI'S

    ab cd fish m r not fish s m r c d b d i's

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Here is what i did and it works awesome

    First i ran the floatswitch i got off ebay through some pvc 1/2" piping



    Then i took a heat gun, and put a 90 degree bend in it, ran it under some cold water to secure it



    Anoter one of the same



    I used some pvc glue to secure the float switch,



    I then took a cheap extension cord and cut through one of the wires, being careful to not cut all the way through



    I soldered it up to the float switch, and then taped up the glued float switch



    I added some telephone wire holders, and used cable ties to secure them to the float switch, the telephone wire holders have sticky tape on them, so you can position the float on your tank whereever you want

    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Hope this helps
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    870
    is that tape at the float end? if yes remove it because it hase toxic glue and salt water will make the plastic part of the tape leach toxins within the tape itself.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Its 3m scotch electrical tape, i've never heard that its poison before, where did you read this ?
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,427
    Does the extension cord go directly to a 120V power supply? If so, that might pose a shock hazard. There was a thread about 3 months concerning wiring a float switch with a 9v solenoid to isolate the 120v source from the tank water.
    Nick

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Yeah it goes right into the wall, why would it cause a shock hazard ? I know alot of people who have done similar setups.

    Maybe if you could dig up the thread i could take a read, in the meantime i will email the company and ask them about it. I don't want to get any more shocks from my fish tank...

    Like the time i dropped the endcap from my flourescent light in the tank... ouch
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,427
    Here are a couple of threads you might want to review:

    http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...&threadid=1163

    http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...&threadid=2913

    People were worried about having a 120V going directly to the float swirtch in the tank, just in case.

    Originally posted by fishmonger
    Yeah it goes right into the wall, why would it cause a shock hazard ? I know alot of people who have done similar setups.

    Maybe if you could dig up the thread i could take a read, in the meantime i will email the company and ask them about it. I don't want to get any more shocks from my fish tank...

    Like the time i dropped the endcap from my flourescent light in the tank... ouch
    Nick

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Makes sense...

    Allthough i don't think it would be a big problem, i do have about 48 new power transformers, that i just got in from my supplier for my moonlights, so better safe then sorry i guess

    I'll just wire the extension cord into the powersupply
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

Similar Threads

  1. Automatic Feeders
    By cdn beaver in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-19-2005, 11:32 AM
  2. looking for a automatic fish feeder
    By tha_MAN in forum ARRG
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2004, 11:34 PM
  3. Using a float valve for automatic top off
    By percula99 in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 02:01 PM
  4. automatic water top off
    By thien in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 01:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •