Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646

    made my own 2 float switch w/ relay box

    my last flood finally caused a chain reaction in my brain..
    could'nt stand having one float switch running 120v direclty without a relay.. unsafe, unstable, expensive to replace those switches every few months... the reasons are endless, ..
    anyways.. picked up some hardware in and there and some float switches from Ivan...awesome price on those, been looking around for a while... he's got some kickass prices!!

    anyways.. enough with the yappin..

    here's a pic of my new setup.
    you will notice that I run an external 12vdc instead of using a coil and diodes to get the dc to run the relay, this seems to be the best option to get the stablest 12v for the given price.

    I made a little bracket out of acrylic to hold the switches together:

    Oh and for the ones wondering if its worth the 70$ Tangman is asking for his setups... its dirt cheap.. took me a few hours to get everything setup properly... + parts.. unless you like doityourselfer projects and like running around for stuff..
    his setups are worth it.


  2. #2
    ijo
    ijo is offline
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,610
    other than the extra large image(hehe) it looks awesome!!! nice and clean construction liv!!! :thumb:

    IJO

  3. #3
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Wow,
    Looks really good Liv!

    Congrats! And thanks for the kind words!
    I try to pass off any savings I get to everyone.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  4. #4
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    Ivan, what u talking about large image,
    its already 35% of its original size

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  5. #5
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    resized it...

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    That looks good Liv .. what was your total cost to build it?
    Rob

  7. #7
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    4$ for the box, 7$ ac/dc 12v unit, 5$ relay, 2$ for each connections (4) = 8$ box to hold relay 4$
    some wiring.. i had that already but add a few bux. without counting the switches from ivan ~30-35$ tx inc.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    201
    thinking of doing the same thing in the near future only difference I am going to use a pico controller instead of a relay

  9. #9
    Senior Member pt109's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    177
    I like the redundancy (safety) with the second float switch; but as a suggestion, why not separate them vertically a little more (say three inches), in order to save your powerhead cycling on and off each time the floats drop to the bottom of their shaft?
    Man cannot live on bread alone --
    He must also have his peanut butter

  10. #10
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    The powerhead would still cycle on and off since one switch would be constantly submersed under water.

    What you are thinking of is a latching circuit whereby the waterlevel has to drop to the bottom-most switch to start the powerhead. Once the water reaches the top-most switch, it would then shut power off.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Float switch set-up !
    By SPIN in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-19-2010, 12:36 AM
  2. Float switch brackets
    By GaryK in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 12:49 AM
  3. Float Switch!!!!
    By john rock in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-06-2004, 10:24 PM
  4. Float Switch
    By john rock in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 04:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •