Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    243

    Float Valve.....

    Hi

    I have the Home version of the Aquasafe RO/DI Unit -- which is basically the one with the tank and the shutoff valve.

    I currently have to manually open a tap and drip RO in the sump directly until the tank empties and sometimes even longer (depending on how much top-off I need)

    I'm looking to drop a Kent float valve at the end of that instead.. How precise is it? why does it say "not for water level control...." and why is there a check valve if you buy the full kit. I already have the shutoff valve...

    Thanks
    Eric

  2. #2
    Senior Member jjjtoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    112
    I have the kent valve, just the float never had a problem. Working for 5 months now. I also have the same ro/di unit from aquasafe with the 4 gallon tank.
    Jason

  3. #3
    Senior Member mpleleaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    337
    Eric are you able to tee off at a point in the system and run the tap and a float valve.I was thinking of tapping in probably before the shutoff valve supplied with the RO unit going to the tap and a new branch would be used for the kent float valve. This way you could enjoy good drinking water and have a supply for the aquarium!
    I live in a mail-order town!!!
    If you don't feel like standing behind our troops, feel free to stand in front of them!!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    163
    YOu can also buy the float valves from Home Depot. They are "Wait" brand valves made for humidifiers. They are about $6. I've used mine for about 6 months now without any major problems.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    870
    do you have a plumming supplier in your area?commercial.ask for a humidifier float all plastic type ajustable.refac sells them.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    243
    anybody knows why the kent Kit comes with a check valve? Do we require that?????

Similar Threads

  1. Float Valve
    By print6196 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2005, 08:17 PM
  2. Float Valve question
    By Krugar in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2005, 12:59 PM
  3. float valve?
    By ktown in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 03:12 AM
  4. Using a float valve for automatic top off
    By percula99 in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 02:01 PM
  5. Float valve
    By MINIATUS in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 07:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •