Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782

    Electrial help for the stupid.....That's Me!!!

    Hello I just bought these computer fans off ebay and I was wondering if there is any way to wire them up to a plug for my new canopy? Keep in mind that I have no clue about wiring.......At all!!! Keep it real simple if possible. If it sounds like your talking to a baby when your explaining it that perfect!!! Don't know if it helps much but there is a black and a red wire comming out of the fan.

    Thanks in advance!!!
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  2. #2
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    Here's one more. I hope the numbers on this pic mean more to you then they do to me!!!
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  3. #3
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    ok how many do you have?that is a 430 miliamp motor so if you only have one you need a 12volt 500 miliamp tansformer...20$ approx at radio shack...and if you have 2 of them a 1000 milliamp tansformer will be needed
    Derik...

  4. #4
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    heres an ac adapter 1000 miliamp
    Derik...

  5. #5
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    heres the 500 one
    Derik...

  6. #6
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    All you need to do is find enough power like Derik said.
    after that.. connect the red ( positive ) to the positive on the power adapter and the black ( negative ) to the negative on the adapter.

    some adapters are strong enough to hold all of them.
    I have 3 fans and all run on one power supply,
    in this case you want everything in parallel.. so all the red wires together and all the blacks together.. then reds in positive, blacks in negative..

    voila.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  7. #7
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    I have 10 of them. I was hoping to connect 4 of them together. What kind of plug would I need for that?
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  8. #8
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    10!!!!and they look like 4 inche 120mm..are they?What do you want to do with 10?
    Derik...

  9. #9
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    I'm taking a wild guess ans saying a 2000 milliamp tansformer. Or maybe two 1000 milliamp tansformers. Gee's i'm an electrician:biggrinbo :blah:
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  10. #10
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    well the auction was for 10 of them lol. I only going to use 4 thou
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Stupid fish.
    By carrhd in forum Photography Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 12:27 PM
  2. I am just to stupid.... :bawling:
    By zeke in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2006, 03:15 AM
  3. ready for a stupid question?
    By wrassehole in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 04:55 AM
  4. stupid high nitrates!
    By sara in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 03:23 AM
  5. skimmer going stupid!!!!!
    By tiffany in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 11:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •