Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Help!! Acrylic Pro Needed

I have a situation, my skimmer had flanges put on [twice!] and there leaking. I need someone to cut my skimmer,and put new flanges on it or just seal the sucker permanent! I'm fed up with leaks! anyone on board here work with acrylic?? we could work out a frag/cash deal.

I could help you out, but I am not an expert. At least it would probably not look as nice as the work of other people I have seen. You can see what I was able to accomplish on the following thread.

http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...&threadid=7190

PM me if you think I can be of assistance. This is a hobby for me, not trying to make a living out of it.

Serge

Common Sense - Is'nt!!

Cutting large diameter tube is TRICKY without cracking it Johnny. Is it leaking through the connections or where the flanges are connected to the tubes?
    Rob

Originally posted by One Salty Dog
    Cutting large diameter tube is TRICKY without cracking it Johnny. Is it leaking through the connections or where the flanges are connected to the tubes?
    Rob
    Indeed. Just how large is the diameter of his tube/tubes?
    If the leak is just between the flange and the tube, a good portion of weldon #16 should cure it, I believe.
    Serge

Common Sense - Is'nt!!

The ONLY sure way to cut up old acrylic tubes is with a stainless steel .040 wire and a 12 volt batterie.That will permit a PErfect cut and enabling perfect gluing
    Derik...

Yes, I can picture this. But maybe it is not that bad and can be fixed a generous portion of #16. We'll see what he says later.

Serge

Common Sense - Is'nt!!

Yes but he says that he doesnt want it to leak anymore....i would do it once and for all...
    Derik...

I want it cut once and for all I had flanges installed and they were to thin and couldn't be cranked down to seal.