Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Moderator ShipWreck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,213

    MH Lighting Wires

    Okay, I am finally stepping up my lighting, Only took me 7 years and electricians I could use some help.

    So I have bought all the DIY parts to create a hood with 2x 250 MH and 2x 48" VHO's. The MH ballasts are the core type and the VHO ballast is electronic.

    I want to put the MH ballasts in the basement and run there output up to the hood, 12ft run max. Now what kind of wire will I need to run? I was also hoping to run the wire from the ballast enclosure (old computer case?) to receptical under the tank and then continue the run with a plug, so I can remove the hood from the tank if req'd and not have to unwire.

    So to summerize:
    1. What wire type/spec do I require between my MH ballast and socket?
    2. Can I use a receptacle/plug in the middle as a disconnect (ballast would be off at this time)?
    3. What type of wire to connect the VHO ballast to endcaps?

    Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member orion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    229
    question 1... use 18/3 wire insulated suitable for wet locations

    question 2... not advisable.. use a longer cord but if you need to make a disconnect use those exterior grade sealed boxes and make the disconnect point away from the water

    question 3... use a solid core wire 18 awg rated to 600volt

  3. #3
    Senior Member orion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    229
    oh ya forgot the disclaimer <GRIN>
    I am not a electrician use the above post at your own risk

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    MH ballasts are recommended to be as close to the lamps as possible. how do you plan 12 feet if your tank is on the main floor and the ballast is in the basement? even 12 feet is pushing it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member orion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    229
    Johnny,
    why are they recomended to be close to one another is it a voltage drop thats the issue? could he not use thicker wire guage? to keep the voltage up

  6. #6
    Senior Member Serge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    548
    Probably to reduce wire resistance and capacitance which ultimately affect the final input at the light bulbs. Just my $0.02

    Serge

    Common Sense - Is'nt!!


  7. #7
    Moderator ShipWreck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,213
    I was thinking along orion's lines but any electricians want to chime in?

    What is the max distance between ballast and lamp jonny?

    I estimated 12 feet as the hood is ~6 off the floor and I need to run it ~ 6 feet in the basement to a shelf. If I have to I can put it under the tank, I am concerned about the heat in a sealed area and my kids getting in.

    I look forware to more advice.
    Rob
    -----
    Upgrade in the works! Keep looking for an update.


  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    72
    Hi Shipwreck,

    I started writing out as big reply to your questions but it is a whole lot easier to just tell you over the phone and ask follow up questions, give me shout on my cell and I can walk you through it.

    I have rolls and rolls of wire you can have for FREE what colours would you like?

    Cheers
    Lou
    PS not much in the way of Reef stores in Tenesse just Pet Smart stores as we suspected so needless to say I didnít bring anything back maybe on the next outing.

Similar Threads

  1. Value of actinic lighting vs broad spectrum lighting?
    By fish in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-23-2006, 11:57 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-20-2005, 10:59 PM
  3. Red Lighting or Moon Lighting
    By Jenn123 in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 03:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •