Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174

    Autotop-off wierdness / near flood

    Hi all,

    I had a flood a while back that didn't make much sense. Ended up we blamed it on our 3 year old playing with the float switch in my sump.

    Anyway, I had a second close call where the autotop-off almost filled the sump. So I rebuilt the float switches & I have 2 low level switches and 1 high level cut off. The low levels are normally open, the high level is normally closed.

    Everything was working as expected & I let the extra water evaporate.

    This morning I opened the valve on my RO unit to refill the resovoir & left it running. This shouldn't be a problem, the resovior has a float valve.

    Anyway I ate breakfast, came back & the sump was full up to the high level switch. This isn't a latching circut. The two low levels should control the water level, the high level is an "emergency" cut off.

    Every time this has happened my protien skimmer has completely freaked out. The reaction tube fills with water and I'm getting almost zippo bubbles. It's an AC skimmer driven by a Mag7. I don't know if this is a symptom of, or the cause of the wierdness.

    This time, possibly because of the new high level switch, the collection cup didn't fill with water, the other two times it did.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    couldn't tell ya much without seeing it but sump levels will affect skimmers that I know.also, are you direct wiring the float switches with 110v

  3. #3
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    On my skimmer, it has an air inlet hole and if the sump fills up too much (always by accident of course), the air inlet hole draws in water. This makes the skimmer not work so well.
    It's an in-sump skimmer.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  4. #4
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    I've modified one of Tang_man's relays to use 3 switches instead of one & tested it with a lamp before moving it to the sump.

    The skimmer uses a kent venturi and it's impossible for it to go under water. I suppose I may not be cleaning it enough, I've only been cleaning the venturi when I do my partials.

    I could try doing it when I clean the sponge on the Mag7, once a week.

    The skimmer is in-sump as well.

    I'll take some photo's & post them later now that I've rebuilt the home systems.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    if the height changes in the sump it can mess with your skimmer settings. I find the slightest change in back pressure will do this. not sure if thats your problem

  6. #6
    Moderator cres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1,963
    Are you possible setting up a syphon from the top off to the sump? You should make sure that the end of the top off line is above the max water level in the top off container, or have a syphon break in there.

    Once the sump is too high, all bets are off on the skimmer.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

  7. #7
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Hmmm.... I'm going to have to check that out cres. I didn't think it was, but that might fit. The water volume is right for a siphon problem, but oddly it's not happening all the time...

    Regardless, I think I'll poke a 1/8" hole in the hose just above the water line in the reservoir. That should remove the issue from the equation.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  8. #8
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    I think Cres nailed it on the head... Keep us informed.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Will do, I'm should be evaporated back down to normal tank volumes tomorrow, which means the auto top off might fire on Tuesday.

    I drip kalk with a dosing pump at 120mL / hour which is just under my evap rate (about 165 - 180mL / hour). End result the auto-top off doesn't go off daily.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

Similar Threads

  1. DIY flood alarm
    By Marty in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 03:35 PM
  2. Almost a flood - not sure why?
    By SnelgroveReefer in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 03:25 PM
  3. First Flood
    By Krugar in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2005, 06:54 PM
  4. Our first Flood!!!
    By ijo in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 12:01 AM
  5. First Freaking Flood!!!!!
    By john rock in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-23-2003, 04:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •