Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: ro/di questions

  1. #1
    ToX
    ToX is offline
    Senior Member ToX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    360

    ro/di questions

    I just bought a aquasafe ro/di unit. First of all, I was wondering if i could use a faucet adapter for the IN and just trow the drain line in the sink. I really dont want to drill holes (1 im afraid i'll cause a flood and 2 its my parents house and i'll be moving next fall).
    Secondly, the RO I bought differs slightly from the one in the picture of the "installation emailed" lol . I would really appreciat if someone could post a picture of where all the tubes go. ( i have a round four way connector)

    ty

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    37

    Adapter

    Yes this is what you are looking for I use one myself
    http://www.reefsolution.com/catalog/...roducts_id=567 If you want PM me I will send you Instructions

  3. #3
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Hi ToX.

    First of all, welcome to Aquaria.ca!

    For your RO/DI unit, if it differs much from the installation instructions you have, it might be easier for you to post a picture of what your RO/DI unit looks like and many of us here will be able to tell you where to connect the 1/4 hoses.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  4. #4
    Senior Member Bonaqua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    459
    Yes. You can use a faucet adapter.
    Go to Home Depot and buy a "hose to 1/4" adapter".
    Then go to Canadien Tire and buy a "faucet to hose adapter".
    None of these stores carry both of'em. No idea why.
    If you ask for help in any of the stores, most likely they'l tell you there's no such a thing. (That's what they told me).
    My water line is not accessible as I tought so I had to go with adapters.
    Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    ToX
    ToX is offline
    Senior Member ToX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    360
    I know what you mean, I went to rona yesterday to look for a adapter and they told me it doest exist lol. Maybe I could just buy the one from this site but I dont know if i can order it and pay cash when i go get it (i dont want to create a paypal account.

    question : can i just trow the drain line in the sink??? or do i have to drill the hole???

    I'll post a picture of my RO this afternoon because i'm not home now

    thx

  6. #6
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    There's no problems with throwing the drain in the sink. I actually have my RO/DI unit sitting in one side of the double sink in the basement. With the drain from the RO unit in the drain of the sink. (I don't use the sink at all so I figured why not put it in there just incase it leaks)
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  7. #7
    ToX
    ToX is offline
    Senior Member ToX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    360
    I tried to upload pictures, but I keep getting a error page. I hooked it up the best I can and I opened the water but nothing was comming out except to the drain... for a good 15 minutes, should I wait longer???

    http://reefcentral.com/gallery/showg...103246&thumb=1
    here is my link to my gallery at reefcentral

  8. #8
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    The sixth filter (top filter) has a T connection....why a T ?

    I'm not sure that that connector is that the 4 hoses goes into. Haven't seen one of those before.
    I would turn on the water, and check each fitting to see if water is flowing in/out of each filter. Careful, it'll get water everywhere but at least you'll know if one of your filters is plugged.

    Also, to upload photos, 600x400, <100K in size.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  9. #9
    ToX
    ToX is offline
    Senior Member ToX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    360
    ok so I removed the top filter and it started to work. Plus the top filter was actually bad for tds... But I still dont get why no water was comming out before oh well now I have to wait like 20 hours to fill up my 75g

  10. #10
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Glad to hear that it's working.

    However, hate to burst your bubble, but the likelyhood that you'll get 4 gal an hour is small.....unless....
    I use a mixing valve on my RO/DI unit so that the input water is approximately 78F which the the temperature the unit runs best. I get 4gag an hour out of my unit. Using the cold from the tap and you'll be lucky to get 2.5g per hour.

    The mixing valve was $35 from MacMaster. Do a search for other RO/DI posts...I posted a while back about this, but can't remember when.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. A Few Questions?
    By KingFisher.905 in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 02:47 PM
  2. Several Questions
    By cdn beaver in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2005, 10:04 PM
  3. new set up questions
    By reefsurfer in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-02-2005, 11:18 PM
  4. few questions??
    By volitan in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-30-2004, 02:14 AM
  5. 2 questions
    By cdn beaver in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-26-2004, 12:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •