Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782

    Phosoban Reactor

    Do anyone have any plans for a Phosoban Reactor? I'm comming home soon and i want to get all the planning out of the way before I get there. Straight to building!!! Any help would be great!!!
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    783
    I bought a two little fishies modle phosban reactor at the lfs here for cheaper than I could make one. I've seen a few on ebay as well for cheap. Here's the link to the cheapest one I could find on ebay.
    http://cgi.ebay.ca/PHOSBAN-REACTOR-1...QQcmdZViewItem

  3. #3
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Mike,
    In my personal experience, it would be easier, and probably cost you just as much to buy an actual phosban reactor. They are $59.99 new. And if you can manage to find a used one, I've seen them go for as little as $25.

    http://aquariacanada.com/osCommerce/...oducts_id=1188
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    oh gee's I didn't know they were that cheap. Thanks
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  5. #5
    Senior Member colesy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,023
    How does a phosban reactor actually work? Does it have a pump like a skimmer? or is it something you put in-line, like input on one end, and output on another? How would you fit it into yoru setup? Does anyone have any pics of how theirs is setup?

  6. #6
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    the simpliest way I think is to put a pump directly onto it and have it pump directly back into the sump. Of course there's a pump rating (Pretty low). I guess I'll figure it out when I get one. LOL
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  7. #7
    Senior Member colesy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,023
    Ok, so you would run a seperate pump for this? You wouldnt plumb it into an existing setup with a T or something? Does a phosban reactor run all the time?

  8. #8
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Mike is right, you simply run a small maxi-jet on it, and use the included valve to dial down the flow so that the media is only slightly tumbling inside the reactor.

    You could plumb it in with a TEE as you mentioned Colesy, but most don't bother.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  9. #9
    ToX
    ToX is offline
    Senior Member ToX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    360
    Noob question here, what does a phosban reactor do????

  10. #10
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Heya Tox,
    The only bad questions are those not asked.

    A Phosban reactor is basically an enclosed chamber in which you can run a number of media's. It was originally made for the purpose of running Phosban to reduce phosphate levels in an aquarium. However it also works with EcoPhos, RowaPhos medias for the same purpose.

    Many people also run a 2nd one of these reactors for Carbon, as they make very efficient use of any media put into them by gently tumbing the media inside the reactor for maximum media usage.

    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. which reactor?
    By upthecreekwithoutapaddle in forum Calcium/Kalk Reactors
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-23-2015, 09:56 PM
  2. Calcium reactor vs Kalk reactor. Which one do you use/need ?
    By clown_fish in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-03-2005, 04:38 AM
  3. anybody using PM for Ca reactor???
    By fishgeek71 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-07-2005, 01:39 PM
  4. Ca Reactor ????
    By john rock in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-17-2005, 04:33 PM
  5. Does anyone use a PO4 reactor, i'm looking to buy
    By fishmonger in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 01:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •