Dead fish / shrimp (2month old tank)

Hello,
    I'm pretty new to the whole marine fish. We got a new tang a a couple weeks ago and he died in a week of being in our tank. When he died he almost seemed paralyzed. Like he wanted to swim but couldn't. Still having some mobility, but not enough, and died that same day.

Within the last week, we also had both of our cleaner shrimp die too. The first shrimp we found in the pump, and the second shrimp we saw die. He started off by not being able to swim, and just laying on his back(with some movement) and he almost seem to die the same way as our fish, wanting to swim but not being able too. He would just get blown up and around by the pump.

I'm not sure what to do.

Any help would be appriciated. We had the water tested, it seems perfect. We also have about 5 different corals that are doing great. Theres currently 2 clown fish and a bangai that seem to be doing just fine.

Thanks!

liv
    How did you acclimate them ?

usually the best method is dripping a line to them for about 1h or 2 and leaving the bag inside the tank or sump to warm up as well.

when you say you had it tested, by whom ? a store ? what did they test ?

was your tang eating at all, and if he was, what kind of food was he getting ?

also, what were the tang and shrimp species?
    some tangs do not fair well in our hobby and should be left either in the ocean or to more advanced aquarists with large dedicated setups

moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

to Aquaria Canada

sorry to hear about the loss, are you sure the shrimp you removed were not just a molt??

as shrimp grow ( and other inverts with an exoskeleton ) they need to shed their exoskeleton, quite often a new reefer will see these molts in their tank and assume their shrimp died, only to see the shrimp re-appear after his new skin has toughened up.

can you list the test results??