Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Exclamation Does Ich need to be treated?

I've just recently noticed some of my fish have white spots. I have a 150g reef tank with lots of live rock, so catching each fish is next to impossible and a copper treatment is out due to inverts. My question is if the fish are eating, swimming, behaving properly and the only thing wrong is the white spots should I be trying an ich treatment? Obviously if they were acting strange, not eating, rapidly breathing I would have to try some treatment, but if they seem otherwise healthy do you attempt a treatment? I have been supplementing their nori with selcon and garlic guard, and am thinking of getting some more cleaner shrimp (I have 2 Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp and am thinking about getting 2 Blood Red Fire Shrimp or 2 more of what I already have). Any thoughts as to which shrimp is better? Should I be trying a cleaner wrasse?

Please help, I am new to this hobby (6 months) so any advice is greatly appreciated!

liv
    quick awnser for ya: Garlic
    make a batch of food for your fishies, add freshly pressed garlic juice and pulp with the food, let it sit together for a good 30min before serving.
    if you need some recipes, check out my recipies in the DIY section.

Do this for now on, and it will lower ick by alot.
    Garlic is all around super good stuff.

as for shrimps, you already have the cleaner shrimps, but not all fish visit the shrimps.
    cleaner wrasses do great jobs too.. and can chase the fish around too.. some fish will prefer the wrass.
    a combination of a cleaner wrass and enhancing your fishies immune system is your best bet

moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

ijo