Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36
  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    23
    Make sure you are not using any tap water condtioners that will cause the PS to over skim.
    Adam Archibald

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,122
    You guys might wanna look at it a different way. Firstoff, any skimmer when working properly should not have the air intake or the pump dialed back. They should be able to work at full capacity. It's important that the tube where the water exits is not underwater. This will cause a backpressure which in turn will cause the collection cup to fill up very fast with water as Andrew mentioned. Your outputs have to be able to handle the volume the pump pushes through it with no restriction. You want the air intake to be open as much as possible because the more air it can suck in, the more foam will be created because of more bubbles. Also, the pump running at full throttle will also push more water through the air being injected which will do 2 things.., clean more water and mix more air into the water.
    Skimmers should also be cleaned regularly. Every skimmer is cleanable in one way or another. Heck... even a SeaClone is cleanable!!!

  3. #23
    Senior Member AndrewNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    330
    Well, still having some trouble. I took the skimmer apart, as much as it could be, and washed it out with dish detergent. Rinced everything well and reasembled. Tried it again and the collection cup still fills with water (not as fast thought) with the pump running full. I tried a larger diamter tube that connects to the venturi valve to let in more air. This created more bubbles but the skimmer still overflows. The output is 1" and is in the water, but at 1" I'm not sure if that would be much back pressure.

    When I turn the pump down to about 3/4 it works. The only adjustment when everthing is assemble as per the dirrections is the ouput pipe. It can be moved up and down. If I move the output pipe up, the water level in the skimmer rises (makes it overflow faster). I don't see any way to decrease the amount of air.

    Any other suggestions?

  4. #24
    AC Partner MomRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    875
    If it is working at 3/4 then I would just leave it there for now. You can always adjust it later as it gets broken in better. With my smaller version of the same skimmer, the output is under water by 1" but I have always had perfect skimmate. nice and dry, and I have no problem with the cup filling quickly. I seem to remember that happening when I first plugged it in though. I can't adjust the venturi on mine, and the air is wide open all the time. Did you conatact the manufacturer? Often they will be very helpful in tweaking a new skimmer.
    Gail in Nova Scotia

  5. #25
    Senior Member AndrewNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    330
    I didn't contact the manufacturer yet. I think I will just wait a bit and see. It may have something to with the tank it is set up on. The skimmer is meant for 200Gal and I have it set up on a 27Gal. The new tank doesn't have water yet and I wanted to see this thing working. But, the water in the 27 is very very clear!

  6. #26
    AC Partner MomRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    875
    There ya go! Nothing to skim!! Now wouldn't that be nice!
    Gail in Nova Scotia

  7. #27
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    mine originally had that problem too, but has since calmed down. i guess as it skimms like crazy, it eventually runs out of what to skim and starts to skim normally.
    Albert
    My Photos

  8. #28
    Senior Member Pluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    369
    What kind of skimmer is it?
    Phins Up ^^^^^^^


    "How I wish, how I wish you were here,
    We're just 2 lost souls sitting in a fish bowl,
    Year after year......."(Hope it was cycled!)
    Pink Floyd

  9. #29
    Senior Member AndrewNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    330
    I have an Adavnced Aquaria Excalibur HV 200 skimmer.

  10. #30
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    Remora Pro
    Albert
    My Photos

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. I picked up a new protien skimmer, a Fission power skimmer, its' AWESOME
    By Lawnmower_Goby in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 05:05 PM
  2. Drilling an hole in the return pipe to break the syphon
    By zeke in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-24-2006, 01:21 AM
  3. My $2 no break overflow siphon.
    By carrhd in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 03:40 PM
  4. break in times + skimmer
    By Nanosteve in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 06:54 PM
  5. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-30-2004, 02:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •