Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How long after mixing water

Never saw anything about this in any books and I am wondering how long people wait after mixing up water for changes before actually changing the water. I have been agitating RO/DI water with the salt using a powerhead for 24 hours before doing the water change.

Quote Originally Posted by fish
    I am wondering how long people wait after mixing up water for changes before actually changing the water.
    It takes me about 45 seconds to get the water from the kitchen where I mix it to the aquarium. It may not be right but that's how I've been doing it for 20 years.

Hank.
    220G mixed reef main, 30 G (3 x 10) brood/grow-out, 25 G secondary, 6 G frag with shared sump

Return Pump: Iwaki MD55RLT
    Water Movement: Tunze Turbelle Stream 6060, 4 x MaxiJet 1200
    Lighting: 60" Outer Orbit dual 250 W 10k HQI and quad 48" T5HO Actinic
    Skimmer: Precision Marine Bullet-2 with Iwaki MD55RLT, WC610 waste collector, and gate valve

Experience: Fresh since 1976 - Marine since 1987

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hank.carr

I mix my water and wait 24 hours before adding.

Cheers
    40G Tank | 150 watt Jager Heater | Super Skimmer 3000 | Maxi-Jet x2 1200 | 192W Total Lighting w/Actinic | 20LBS Live Rock | 50LBS Aragonite | 10 various snails | 13 Blue Legged Hermit Crabs | 2 Ocellaris Clownfish | 1 Hi Fin Red Banded Goby | 1 FireFish Goby | 1 Flame Angel | 1 Kid | 1 Wife | 1 Cat

For me, I let it mix for at least 24hrs.

I have a 23g container that is always full of new salt water (mj400 provides circulation). Then when I want salt water, it's there. But you have to have 'extra' space for this.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

I am like hank, sink to tank in under 30 seconds. I am FOWLR so do not know this may impact coral.

I always wait 24 hours to aerate it really well, stabalize PH and buffer ALK as necessary (IO salt).