Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Ammonia Problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8

    Ammonia Problem

    Tank been running for about 6 months .. 40 gallon 60 LBS LR 40 LS .. The problem is I can get my ammonia to read 0 .. The problem is Ive been using tap water and havent been using anything to kill the cholrine or whatnot . Have hooked up my RO/DI system and need to know how to convert the water .. Should i just start the process over Or do 20% change 50 % of h20.To try to save some of the baterica thats in the system if any is left.. Thanks for the help

  2. #2
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Start with regular water changes using salt water made with the RO/DI. If you replace all the water in your tank at the same time (or too quickly), that will not be good.
    Also, daily top-ups, which is done with fresh water, should come from water produced by the RO/DI unit.

    I wouldn't worry about the clorine in the tank...clorine evaporates in about 24 hrs. Cloramine is a different story....I've been told it can take a week or so for cloramine to evap out of the water.


    Welcome to Aquaria.ca by the way!
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8

    Update Please Help

    Its been a week or so , still no signs of Spike in ammonia .. 2 water changes were done with RO/DI water Ammonia still @ .05-1.0 range .. Is there a way I can speed the process up ? 1 fish (Dams) fed every other day ..

    Thanks
    Tim

  4. #4
    Senior Member drummer89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    173
    Water changes will definitely help, but it does take quite a while to change all of the existing water in your tank. I think there are a few chemicals you can buy that help lower ammonia, but I'm not sure what their limitations are and whether or not they are good or bad for your tank. Normally, my philosphy is the less chemicals you put in your tank, the better. Of course, there are some things that DO need to go in your tank (essential elements, etc) but putting too much artificial stuff in can't be good. I'd only start using a chemical if the ammonia will not lower w/ water changes. Patience is one of the biggest parts of owning a marine aquarium. Good luck

  5. #5
    Senior Member drummer89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    173
    I forgot to ask whether or not you've tested your RO water for chlorine/chloramines? You don't want to be putting those elements in your tank.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Ricepicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,703
    what kinda things are in it? theres a chance u may be over stocking it?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    1 Blue Dams and about 40 ILYANASSA OBSOLETA Snails ..

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    how would i check for chlorine/chloramines

  9. #9
    Moderator cres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1,963
    Quote Originally Posted by TimDive
    how would i check for chlorine/chloramines
    You would need a test kit for Chloramine and Chlorine. Some only do Chlorine.

    If you are in Ottawa, Chloramine is used. If you run Chloramine though Carbon, it strips off the Chlorine and leaves Ammonia. Even an RO/DI unit doesn't properly remove it all.

    Ammonia is highly reactive (one of the problems with having it in a tank with living creatures). It will react itself out of solution. If you don't add anything to the tank and the Ammonia doesn't go down, you likely have a supply. It could be things dying in the tank. It could be in your source water. It could be overfeeding.

    If you do 3-5 20% water changes in a week, you should see the level drop, maybe not to zero, but, it should drop. If it doesn't the problem is your supply or your test kit.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    8
    The ammonia is about .05 its between the first and second on the card.. Its not bright yellow nor the Lightest green it seems inbetween .. So what would the water changes do bring it down to 0 .. How much baterica will I loose doing that many water changes..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ammonia test
    By cadieuxj in forum Water Quality
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2015, 07:23 PM
  2. Ammonia Question
    By manster in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 09:08 PM
  3. Free and Total Ammonia?
    By DuuhMojo in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2006, 01:48 AM
  4. .1 - .3 ammonia should I be worried
    By tpirovol2 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2004, 09:01 PM
  5. Spike Ammonia (almost 2.0) and Nitrates (over 20) ????
    By Chazzes in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2003, 02:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •