Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Quick Plumbing question

Does everyone use pvc? Has anyone tried the flexible stuff that is now used to pipe your house instead of the coper pipe? I'm thinking about using that stuff. I know you have to rent a tool to install it but that's no big deal. Anyone think that it could cause a problem?

Hi

I used ABS pipe. As a plumber, I would recommend to use either PVC or ABS. PVC is more quiet then ABS. Flexible pipe is probably the best for sound but it cost more. Don't use any metals as this is will affect your water conditions. Cheers :biglaugh2
    125g with 40g sump

I am currently using flexible PVC (SpaFlex) as my drain line. I use PVC for my return lines.

There are people using ABS, but, I have heard some saying it is noisy (no concerns about it breaking down).

There are two types of plumbing out there replacing copper in the home, CPVC and PEX. I believe both are reef safe, but, be aware some of the joints for both are metal and these parts should be avoided. I don't know if PEX comes large enough for some parts of the reef setup and I don't know if CPVC comes over th e 3/4" mark.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

Quote Originally Posted by luker78
    Does everyone use pvc? Has anyone tried the flexible stuff that is now used to pipe your house instead of the coper pipe? I'm thinking about using that stuff. I know you have to rent a tool to install it but that's no big deal. Anyone think that it could cause a problem?
    I've used PEX for FW tanks when I was breeding discus...if you stick with the plastic fittings I don't see why you couldn't use it for SW. You can usually find it in diameters up to 1". Supposedly they go up to 2", but I've never seen any in the stores...it's probably a special order item.
    James...

"Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE