Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Live rock

I am a newbie . I have a question about some live rock I bought. I found a little creature in one of the crevases. It looks to me like a sea urchin but the spines ( needles) are sparse. It is a reddish color and has red and white stripped needles. It is quite small the size of a dime or nickle. I have not been able to find a picture of this anywhere. And it is alive and well. Would anyone have an idea of what it is ?

Thanks in advance

BANE :speedbana

Smile

pic would really help. probaly by description a urchin of some type

welcome to AC!
    Sounds like a mystery to me. Got a digicam? Could you take a picture of it and post it?
    "Mmmm...Skimmate"

Creature

Thanks for the quick reply guys. I have taken one shot. It is not very clear because it is sitting in a 2 inch deep crevase. But you can kind of make out what it looks like. The little disc on the bottom is more brown that red ( which shows in the pic) . Hope this helps. The Store thinks it is a hitch hiker that is not good for the tank. I hope not I would love to keep him !

THank again

Is it mobile or attached to the rock?
    Nick

It Moves but I have only seen it move back and forth in the crevase. The store said to take the rock out of the tank and place it in a bucket and then it will come out. But won't that kill my live rock ?

Do you meant that it waves back and forth 'in place' or that it actually changes place? You could get a turkey baster and direct a gentle spray of salt water at it to see if it is loose. If so, you might be able to position it for a better picture (the one you posted is out of focus so I can't tell much). If it's attached, then it isn't an urchin (which are mobile). What does your LFS think it is that would be bad for the tank?