Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello and Qs.

Hello and Qs.

Hi, my name is Trevor
    Ummm, it's been 2 weeks since I ate my last fish...

Not sure how many of you caught that but anyways...

Just wanted to say hi and ask a few questions. I'm just getting started in SW aquariums, actually I haven't started yet, still reading. It's awesome to find a site based in my hometown.

Just a little history before I ask away. I'm 20, I study computer science at LaCiteCollegiale in Ottawa. I work for Environment Canada part-time as a tech dude and I help write training docs and such. I'm an avid snowboarder and have always been interested in growing plants. Then SW aquariums hit me, it's like growing plants but better! A whole balance system with different species seems too interesting to pass up.

Questions!
    - What the best stores to get LiveRocks, localy or internationaly, doesn't matter.
    - Are there and LFS that support SW in Ottawa?
    - Will a water heater suffice if I set up a tank in my basement that usually has temperature that hovers around 16C.
    - How much am I looking at for a basic 55g setup?
    - Anybody have any 55g tanks for sale?(Yes, I keep checking classifieds and such)

THANKS!!!

Hi and [welcome2]You fly too?
    I got it, was the sharks name Trevor??
    For LR, it would be cheaper to order online and Ijo ( Ivan) who is owner and admin of this site also has his onine store based from here ( afterall, the real reason this forum exists) can get you good rock for way cheaper than any LFS can.