Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: quarantine

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    60

    quarantine

    i plan on getting my first fish within the next week and will be setting up my qt tomorrow. at the time i do not have a permanent place for it and i was just wondering what the best way to do this. i have read that i can use live rock to help with the ammonia, but im not to sure about this? if i use an ammonia remover, what is a good brand to use the i can get in ottawa?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Former Moderator a4twenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,819
    i keep a cheap sponge filter running in my sump ( so it has loads of bacteria on it ) that i use for QT. after i'm done with it i clean it out well and put it back in the sump to build up bacteria again.

    i don't know about using ammonia remover but you could monitor the ammonia level and do water changes to keep them in check.
    `

    120S RR tank with 60G basement sump / fuge

    Return Pump: Little Giant 4-MDQX SC
    Water Movement: MP40W, Seio 1500, (2) Hydor K4's
    Lighting: 400W SE MH with 10K Venture
    Skimmer: Euro-Reef RS250 with gate valve
    Other: RODI, RDSB, PO4/AC reactor


    My Gallery

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    612
    It sounds like you'll be adding the fish too early if you're just setting it up and want the fish in a week. You want a good 2-3 weeks to finish cycling with ammonia/nitrite.
    120g AGA~145 lbs Haitian LR~DA Reef Keeper 2 Controller~Dual 14k 250 DE MH's~Dual Overflows~Dual 250w Jager Heaters~Dual 96W Actinics~30g Sump/Refugium~Mag 12 Return~140 lbs Reefgrade Caribsea Aragonite~BubbleKing 180 Skimmer~Phosban Reactor~GEO Kalk Reactor~Powerheads:MP40w/Seio 820/modified Powersweep 270 with Hydor rotating deflector~Digital lighting timer for moon/fuge lighting~7 stage RODI filtration~Quarantine: modified 12.5g Marineland Eclipse

  4. #4
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    yes, complete cycle first before adding fish.
    as for the qt, depends on what fish will be in the qt.
    usually an empty bin or empty 10-20g is plenty of space for qt.
    put a small powerhead, and a heater... for polution control, use your water change water and use that water in your qt tank.. the water is still fine for fish.
    skip the rock and just stick with barebottom and add clay pots for a refuge, it will give shelter to those scared fishies.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    60
    my display tank is 10 weeks old now and was ammonia/nitrate free at about 4-5 weeks. im surprised ive been able to be this patient so far.

    about the sponge filters... how long should i let it sit in the sump before its good to go?

  6. #6
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    Hi,
    we do not use sponge filters in saltwater.. they come polution factories.
    if you do decide to use them, you must rince them in ro/di water at least 2-3 times a week.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  7. #7
    Former Moderator a4twenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,819
    i agree, they shouldn't be used for filtration in a reek tank but they are a great way to provide instant useful bacteria to a QT. they do need to be kept clean but with only 1 or 2 fish and sparse feeding they don't get all that dirty.

    i use an MJ400 ( or other ) to pump water through the sponge filter for a couple of days before i need it but always keep it in the sump for emergencies.

    if you do need to use any medication in the QT, it is best to discard the sponge filter after use. they aren't that expensive and it better than taking a chance of doing damage to your tank when you put it back in the sump.


    Quote Originally Posted by liv View Post
    ... for polution control, use your water change water and use that water in your qt tank.. the water is still fine for fish.
    good point, i take water from my tank to use in the QT and add NSW to the tank. doing your water changes and running a good QT at the same time. :b2:
    `

    120S RR tank with 60G basement sump / fuge

    Return Pump: Little Giant 4-MDQX SC
    Water Movement: MP40W, Seio 1500, (2) Hydor K4's
    Lighting: 400W SE MH with 10K Venture
    Skimmer: Euro-Reef RS250 with gate valve
    Other: RODI, RDSB, PO4/AC reactor


    My Gallery

Similar Threads

  1. Need help for ICK(to quarantine or not?)
    By zeke in forum Fish Disease Treatment
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-01-2006, 11:11 PM
  2. Do You Quarantine?
    By ijo in forum Aquaria Polls
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 02:23 AM
  3. What to Quarantine?
    By SnelgroveReefer in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 04:10 PM
  4. Do you quarantine? Why or why not?
    By Flame*Angel in forum Aquaria Polls
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-20-2005, 08:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •