Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

blue tang suicide

Hi everyone im still trying to get a hold of this but my blue tang kill himself. I checked all my parameter and there all ok. I know i'm new at this but I did not think fish would kill themselves (life is not that bad lol). I was just wondering if anyone has experienced this or would have an idea/suggestion on why.
    thanks

I don't think fish know that by jumping out = suicide.

Fish usually jump when stressed or unhappy. They are just trying to go to a different place.

How big was the tang and what size is your tank?
    29g Biocube, 2x90w Aqua Illumination LED light modules, Vortech MP20, Sapphire BC29 skimmer, GHL Profilux Plus II with 3pump doser.

He did not jump out he stuck himself on my inlet hose for my filter. I would remove him and he kept going back? The tang was 2inch still a baby and my tank is 75gal. I know the tank is to small for a full grown. But I was planing on upgrading the tank before he got to big for it.

Quote Originally Posted by igotit8869 View Post
    He did not jump out he stuck himself on my inlet hose for my filter. I would remove him and he kept going back? The tang was 2inch still a baby and my tank is 75gal. I know the tank is to small for a full grown. But I was planing on upgrading the tank before he got to big for it.
    That is very strange behaviour. What type of filter is it?

You should protect the intake from fish so that it can't happen again.
    29g Biocube, 2x90w Aqua Illumination LED light modules, Vortech MP20, Sapphire BC29 skimmer, GHL Profilux Plus II with 3pump doser.

liv
    yes, tangs have weird behaviors and hippos are very curious by nature.
    no suicide, just curious.
    this shows that you need to improve their environment to be safer... as deafgoose said,
    You should put a strainer on your input so it doesn't happen anymore.

To everyone: