Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Power

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    84

    Power

    I was wondering how you guys have all this power hooked up, do you have a breaker or seprate power to your tanks? I was going to use a power bar for all the lighting, pumps, and skimmer, but though this would be way to much for a normal plug, do I need to run a power wire from my breaker with a small breaker under my tank for all my exceserys? Im stumped

    PAZE

  2. #2
    ijo
    ijo is offline
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,610
    Most setups can handle just one outlet but if you have a large tank with MH lighting... there's a good chance you will need 2 breakers. Lighting is what will more than likely be the one who draws the most current. What size tank do you have? Lighting?

    Whatever you use... make sure you have a GFI setup... electricity and saltwater do not get along... especially with you in contact.

    IJO

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    84
    Im going to be running 8-t5's plus pumps, skimmer, fans, ext.

    Paze

  4. #4
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    If you are using just one outlet, it certainly would be a good idea that it's on it's own breaker.
    Add up the wattage of all your equipment...that'll tell you what much power you really need.

    I have two separate circuits for my setup, but I'm using 2 x 400w MH lights, plus all the 'other stuff'.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  5. #5
    ijo
    ijo is offline
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,610
    Quote Originally Posted by PAZE View Post
    Im going to be running 8-t5's plus pumps, skimmer, fans, ext.

    Paze

    What pwall said but I think you will be ok with T5 lamps...

  6. #6
    Former Moderator a4twenty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,819
    i have mine on several dedicated breakers, each with a GFCI as the first receptacle in the string. then i split the load between the two, this allows for one GFCI to trip and still have some redundant electrical fixtures still work.

    PM sent
    `

    120S RR tank with 60G basement sump / fuge

    Return Pump: Little Giant 4-MDQX SC
    Water Movement: MP40W, Seio 1500, (2) Hydor K4's
    Lighting: 400W SE MH with 10K Venture
    Skimmer: Euro-Reef RS250 with gate valve
    Other: RODI, RDSB, PO4/AC reactor


    My Gallery

Similar Threads

  1. Power bar
    By rudall in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 03:50 PM
  2. power outage
    By frank in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-05-2006, 02:45 AM
  3. FS: 425 GPH Power Head
    By Doo-e in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2004, 12:51 PM
  4. Power Filters ???
    By One Salty Dog in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-21-2004, 04:55 AM
  5. Power-glo
    By Sunray in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-04-2003, 12:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •