Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Noob needs skimmer suggestions

Hi, just found this site, am glad to find something north of the 49th parallel.

I am extremely new to the point of not even having a tank as yet. I have been reading books, articles (magazine and online) for about 3 months.
    Have picked up an old 65 gal I am going to convert to sump and I think I'll be getting either a 100 or 150 gal display tank. (need to ensure I will be able to get it thru to the basement). I would like to get started with FOWLR and then move to reef corals. My question is what type and size of skimmer would be best for this type of system?

liv
    for an inexpensive yet good skimmer check out the octopus skimmers.
    A few guys on the board have them and for the price.. seem to provide a ton of skimming.

always go for a skimmer that is minimum rated at or above your total water requirements.. so if u go 150tank + 65 sump thats 215g.. something like 250-300g skimmer would do wonders.

moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

I have a 200 recirc on my 90 sps tank. It has a good size bioload and is fed well. Skims like a champ. I have it being fed from the sump, but it could easily receive all the overflow. I love my skimmer for how much I paid.
    Get the best skimmer you can reasonably afford and provide for in respects to size.
    Good luck
    Jason

I have a Octopus Extrem Series 200 for my 56g+20g which is very good. Strongly Recommand. http://www.coralvue.com/extremeseries.html

You can check with this store or call Ian, I am not sure he give the best price but I bought 2 skimmers from him and the price pretty ok.

http://www.reefperfection.com/
    :028:

It ain't about how you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward

Two words.

Bubble King