Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: QT to DT

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    58

    QT to DT

    I have yet another question. If my water is the same in my QT as in my DT other than the DT is 4 degrees higher temp do I have to acclimatize the fish when moving them over?

  2. #2
    Moderator ShipWreck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,213
    Yes. Your water is never truley the same between two different tanks. As well 4 degrees of temp is a large amount if it is not slowly changed over. I have my QT tank setup that I can turn a valve and join it to the rest of the system for slow automatic acclimations if all is well or it also has a drain valve if I don't want the water to mix. Now I use mine as a QT tank only so no meds ever.
    Rob
    -----
    Upgrade in the works! Keep looking for an update.


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by ShipWreck View Post
    Yes. Your water is never truley the same between two different tanks. As well 4 degrees of temp is a large amount if it is not slowly changed over. I have my QT tank setup that I can turn a valve and join it to the rest of the system for slow automatic acclimations if all is well or it also has a drain valve if I don't want the water to mix. Now I use mine as a QT tank only so no meds ever.
    Thats a great idea, thanks.

  4. #4
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    I use the water from my water changes to fill and change the water in my QT.
    this way usually close to same parameters.

    But yes, acclimate at all times.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by liv View Post
    I use the water from my water changes to fill and change the water in my QT.
    this way usually close to same parameters.

    But yes, acclimate at all times.
    Thanks, I used the DT water for the QT as well. Its tests the same except for the temp. I didn't acclimatize very long and I added 2 orange anthias, 1 male and 1 female, they seem to being doing well, they are eating lots.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •