New to Salt Water and need a little help

Hello, I am new to salt water and planned on making a 10 gallon reef.I have been doing research and I have most of the answers to my questions but I am still confused about lighting and salt .I have seen on the web someone has used a 2 socket 10 gallon canopy with 2 coarlife 50/50 bulbs 20 watts each but from what I understand his will limit me to low light coral.I was wondering if there is any cost effective ways to have better lighting? or am I going to have to invest in a decent light?When it comes to salt is there one that is better or is it personal preference?

For the salt, it's both a personal preference and you get what you pay for deal. There's an old poll around here on what brand of salt people use and why they do or do not use certain ones. When it comes to tanks as small as yours, I say go for the good quality stuff. It sounds like you want all your options open for going low and high light corals. The more expensive stuff caters to jam packed reef tanks.
    120g AGA~145 lbs Haitian LR~DA Reef Keeper 2 Controller~Dual 14k 250 DE MH's~Dual Overflows~Dual 250w Jager Heaters~Dual 96W Actinics~30g Sump/Refugium~Mag 12 Return~140 lbs Reefgrade Caribsea Aragonite~BubbleKing 180 Skimmer~Phosban Reactor~GEO Kalk Reactor~Powerheads:MP40w/Seio 820/modified Powersweep 270 with Hydor rotating deflector~Digital lighting timer for moon/fuge lighting~7 stage RODI filtration~Quarantine: modified 12.5g Marineland Eclipse

Welcome to the Hobby

Its great to hear that you are researching before jumping in.:b2: I have used Instant Ocean with no issues for years. The key here is test your water, some corals will require higher levels of calcium & other trace elements. Research the coral/fish that you want and then choose the equipment. Some smart planning now, will save money in the long run.

Just one warning!!! Once you start, you will be addicted and future expansions will occur.

liv
    couldn't of said it better.. :b15: