Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: lighting

lighting

Good day what kind of lighting should I be using for pink tip and bubble tip they are getting smaller and i am not sure why I think it is because the light bulb i am using...

A little more info would help, like tank size and current lighting.
    Rob
    -----
    Upgrade in the works! Keep looking for an update.

good day the tank is a 100 gal
    i am not sure what kind of lighting is in there now I know it is a two light bulb set up the bulb not to sure what kind of light bulb would be the best I am new at this salt water stuff can you tell I am not ever sure if I am posting right lol... Thank you

I am going to guess that if this is the standard light fixture as part of a tank kit you have T8 NO lights, which are only good for viewing the fish but are totally inadequate for corals. Below is part of sticky thread on the acronyms.

To determine what lighting you need we need to know the dimensions, specifically the depth (height) of the tank, and what corals you plan to keep in the tank. Currently the choice is between T5HO and MH with LEDs starting to come into the picture and Plasma on the horizon.

Lighting Terms

NO– Normal Output – This refers to standard fluorescent lighting. Normally not used in marine systems due to their low output power.

PC – Power Compact – This is essentially a fluorescent tube bent in half. It provides a higher output then standard fluorescent lights.

VHO – Very High Output - These lamps put out higher power then a standard lamp (110w for a 4’ bulb) and are often used in combination with MH’s to provide actinic supplementation. Note: The lighting industry is moving to no longer manufacture the T12 VHO bulbs due to their power draw and inefficiencies.

T5 – T5 Regular Output - A new style smaller fluorescent bulb. Not recommended for reef systems with coral due to low output.