Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New 120 Gal Tank set-up.

Hello everybody,
    I am new to AC, and to the hobby. (Great site by the way, I have already been able to get a lot of valuble information here. Thnx.)
    I am setting up a new 120 Gal Salt water tank, unfortunately it will be a few months before I can actually put anything in the tank because I am finishing my basement and the tank is going to be built into a dividing wall. I thought that I would post this thread to see if I could get some feed back because I am at the point where I need to install the tank and sump and now would be a good time to find out if my plans so far seem to be ok.
    I have bought the tank wich measures 48" x 24" x 24" high, the frame for the tank stand is already built. It is made out of 2 x 4 pine (double pieces), a 1/2" thk ply wood top and 1" thk styrafoam for under the tank, should this stand be waterproofed?.The plan is that the tank will be viewed from 3 sides, both long sides and one end. Wich means all the plumbing and electrical has to be installed on the other hidden small end, could you please let me know if this may cause me any problems?. The tank is drilled in the bottom corner (hidden end) and an internal overflow is also installed in that corner, I intend to put a stand pipe in there. The tank will drain into a 60 Gal sump/refugium, this is not built yet, I have done quite a bit of research on this but would greatly appreciate any help in this area. If I use a protein skimmer and return pump outside of the sump, the sump will measure approx. 16"w x 28"lg x 24"h. If these 2 items go inside the sump I will gain another 10" approx on the sump length, wich is the better route?.
    I have a few more questions but realize this is already a bit long.....sorry.
    Thank you in advance for any comments you may have. Cheers!!!

Welcome to AquariaCanada!