Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Found Nemo - What to do now?

Hello people... this is my first post on this forum.

It will soon be quite evident that I'm new at this... I need a bit of advice.

First, I had a little mishap today. You know that scene where Nemo swims up the filter intake and almost gets mulched by the 100mph propeller thing? Yep, you guessed it... happened in my tank today. Well, I'm running one of those whisper hang on filters with some bio-ring thingy's while I get my refugium set up. I had removed the guard from the intake tube while doing some maintenance and forgot to put it back on. so my wife calls me today and says, "there's a clownfish missing!" There we were, trying to find nemo! And sure enough, he got sucked up the filter intake. Amazing thing is, he's alive. I lifted the lid off the filter and there he was swimming around (he's over an inch long). Wow, these guy's really are hardy! He's doing fine but has a small open gash on one side near his head. Question is, should I put something in the water to prevent infection, or just let it heal on it's own?

Next question: I am using a 27g aquarium as a sump for my already cycled 40g tank. Once I set it up with fresh salt water, how long should I wait before I start pumping the water?

welcome!

hope you enjoy your stay!! good luck in a great hobby

A few questions first because I do not want to assume anything.
    The 40 is set up with an overflow that goes to the 27 gal sump .. right?
    The sump is 27 gallons but is likely only 50 to 60 % filled so that equals about 15 to 17 gallons net?