Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Closed-loop system

Just when I thought that I had all of my planning done, I have discovered what seems to be the perfect system for me, only I don't understand how it works?

I'm planning a 90gal starphire with approx 35gal sump. I am a huge fan of having all components hidden. I've been reading alot about closed-loop systems which appear to have no powerheads in the tank. I like this.

Could anyone please explain, or refer me to a thread, link or site which explains how the closed-loop works... what's required in terms of added hardware. Diagrams would be a bonus!

Thanks in advance
    Jeremy

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Hopefully this will answer some questions:

http://www.sparklingfloorservice.com...losedloop.html
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

I'm not an expert on this they will post soon I'm sure but a closed loop can be done in two ways.
    1 drill your tank at each end run you pvc pipeing and hook a pump in the middle (like a mag 7 or 9 ) this will give you the closed loop.
    2 you can not drill the tank and use pvc pipeing in the same way but the intake and exit are plumed inside the tank like a hang on filter. ( sort off )

hopefully that helps a little
    stephen
    Stephen

liv
    i like the idea of not having all those awfull powerheads in there... hmmm.. next tank.

moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

see there's one of the experts with the good advice
    stephen
    Stephen

Thanks for the speedy replies...So if I understand it correctly, I would have my overflow/durso draining to the sump, then a return from the sump, and separately you would run the closed loop with it's dedicated pump and this would provide the circulation as opposed to PH's ?

well, theres many takes on this and in all honesty on a 90g a closed loop aint really worth it and the reason I stated this is,