Please Expalin HELP

Hello,
    I am new to reef keeping and have been reading my brains out trying to learn how to do this right. I under stand that there are many ways to handle a tank.

Right now I am trying to figure out how to layout the thank. I have read about Ecosystems, Deep Sand Beds (DBS), Berlin systems. I am really confused right now.
    I understand that a Berlin system is Live Rock (LR) on a bare bottom tank using a large skimmer and a sump. Then I read that adding a Refugium can help with that. A Refugium was a portion of your sump or another tank where you grow algae. Then reading some of the forums everyone is talking about a 3" to 6" DSB along with the 1 to 1.5 lbs. of LR also in the tank. Following some more research I found an article about DSB it was saying you don't want any Critters that will sift through the sand and eat all the micro-organisms that will help the system. On the boards it seems that a lot of people are using these sand sifting critters in their DSB. So I started to read some more and ran into Ecosystems which seems to be a lot like the Berlin system without a skimmer and uses a "Mud" Refugium.

So If someone can explain what is the differences between these systems are I would be forever thankful! ? I think I have it, a lot of people are using a combination of all three. If they are using a DSB they use a Ecosystem to grow the micro-organisms that are beneficial to the tank and can keep sand sifting critters in the main. An Ecosystem and a refugium are they Technically the same thing? I have read that refugiums are suppose to have a low to moderate flow through them and the ecosystems states the higher the flow the better. The ecosystem says the you don't want to run a skimmer because it removes all the nutrients that the ecosystem puts in the tank.

I have read a couple of books and the they say different things. I have read "The New Marine Aquarium" and "Simplified Reefkeeping".