Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cycle

  1. #1
    Senior Member Pluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    369

    Cycle

    Ok,I got a 30 gallon tank sitting here doing nothing,so i was thinking about setting it up with 5 green chromis. Now my question is: If i fill it with water from one of my other tanks,will i have to go through a cycle? also i will take the live rock from my same tank i take the water from?

    Happy Easter

    Pluff
    Phins Up ^^^^^^^


    "How I wish, how I wish you were here,
    We're just 2 lost souls sitting in a fish bowl,
    Year after year......."(Hope it was cycled!)
    Pink Floyd

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    NO ... the water alone will not contain enough of the required bacteria to cycle any tank. If you want to "shorten" the cycle process you should "seed" the new filter system with bacteria from an established tank. It will still cycle but the cycle should be shorter with less height in the spikes of ammonia and nitrite.
    Rob

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    373
    how much live rock are you going to put in there?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Flame*Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,332
    Live rock will help more than water as denitrifying bacteria tends to be on surfaces. If your're using a filter on the 30 that has a sponge in it toss the sponge in the sump of your reef for a week, it'll be loaded in bacteria when you start up the new tank. This is the way I used to set up a quarantine tank, it was fine for just one fish. I'd stll advise going very slow though.
    Susan

  5. #5
    Senior Member Pluff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    369
    I will probably put about 40 pounds of LR in the tank.

    THanks again,

    Pluff
    Phins Up ^^^^^^^


    "How I wish, how I wish you were here,
    We're just 2 lost souls sitting in a fish bowl,
    Year after year......."(Hope it was cycled!)
    Pink Floyd

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    373
    Thats a good amount for that tank to start. That will speed up the cycling prosess very fast.

Similar Threads

  1. tank cycle
    By reefaddicted in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-24-2008, 11:35 PM
  2. Cycle time?
    By DuuhMojo in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 09:04 PM
  3. Flat cycle...??
    By Serge in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-28-2005, 11:17 AM
  4. Significant Cycle?
    By YogoFatso in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-22-2005, 05:32 AM
  5. best way of getting rid of cycle smell
    By volitan in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 03:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •