Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member Pickoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    114

    Reusing Phosphate sponge?

    My phoshate levels were off the chart, so I had to perform a series of water changes before I could start using a phoshate sponge.

    My levels are now at .4 and I would hate to purchase another expensive container of phosphate sponge to remove the remaing phosphate. I was wondering if you could somehow rinse off the sponge and reuse it.

    I used a Kent Phosphate sponge.

  2. #2
    Senior Member aquamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,231
    it say's on the label that you can recharge it in the oven does'nt it? id try it and if it does'nt take all the phosphate's out then buy a new one IMO
    it would be good to hear what the experts have to say though

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    57
    I've been battling the phsophate demon too. Routinely take the used sponge and bake at 450F for 1 hour then reuse, but only once.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Pickoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    114
    The 650g container I used previously makes no mention of reuse. However, the 1.3kg container I just purchsed does have instructions for reuse (renewal). I haven't really found the source of my phosphate problem, so I am sure I will be reusing my sponge. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zookeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    Why do you have such high phosphate levels that you require the use of a removing agent?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Pickoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    114
    I purchased a used saltwater tank with live rocks, lava rocks and gravel. I can only assume the previous owner accumulated phosphates in his rocks and gravel. I am not really sure what the source of the phosphates is. I have performed several (5-6) 25% water changes. I was able to reduce the phosphates, but it's a little easier to use a sponge. Do you have any suggestions?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Zookeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    How much lava rock do you have. These can be a source.

    Regardless, the phosphate is coming from somewhere. Do you use RO/DI water? How much do you feed your tank? What livestock do you have? Size of tank? Etc.

    My point is that you can't just keep using phosphate sponge forever. It is coming from somewhere, and won't stop until you find a permenant solution.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Pickoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    114
    I have a 90 gal tank with mostly live rocks (90lbs) and some lava rock (30lbs). I am debating purchasing an RO/DI unit, but I am not sure it will solve my phoshate problem, since I didn't record any level of phoshates from my tap water.

    My plan was to get the phosphates down to a level which was manageable and not harmful to my tank inhabitants while trying to identify the source of the phoshates. Trying to identify the source of phosphates will be an exercise in trial and error. With phosphates at a more mangaeable level the coral and crustatians will be able to absorb the calcium and some reef custodians should help to keep the algae under control.

    I am hoping the source of the phosphates had something to do with what the previous owner was putting in the tank (ie. food, water, additives.). Come to think of it I am using some of his food sources: Marine Flakes and Algae Wafers. The ingredients mention ascorbyl-2-polyphasphate. Could this be a source? I also feed frozen brine shrimp and frozen Entree twice a week.

    This is becoming more of a chore than a hobby.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    57
    I've been in the same boat. Bought a FOWLR tank from a person who I understand overfed the fish for a long time. Big fat happy fish but high phosphates the built up and permeated the rocks / bed. This info came from the LFS who knew the previous owner well. I've been using RO water and doing 10% water changes every second week and using the phopsophate sponge regularly. Phosphate levels will stay <.2 ppm for a week or so, then inch their way back up, so I re-treat. I think I've got it licked now (touch wood) but remain vigilant.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    730
    This thread, while long, contains a lot of good info on possible sources of phosphates - http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/sh...threadid=28107 -

    It might help you find your possible source(s)

    Vickie

Similar Threads

  1. Is this a sponge?
    By BethOttawa in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 02:36 PM
  2. Sponge???
    By Bonaqua in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 09:21 PM
  3. Phosphate Sponge
    By Ironman in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2005, 02:25 PM
  4. Looking for some SPONGE!!
    By dermp in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 11:43 AM
  5. Sponge
    By vette68 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2004, 12:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •