Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sleeping Clowns??

I am new to Marine Aquariums and my 55 gal tank has been running almost 5 weeks. One of my Clowns keeps going into or under a shell and appears to be taking a wee nap. Other than this it's behavour appears to be normal?? Is this fish ok? I have repeatedly tested the water and everything looks good as far as I can tell.

Thanks in advance

Brad

Ya its probaly taking a nap or just hiding noting to worry about

Thats normal, mine love to "snuggle" in my polyps at night after the lights go out. They are used to sleeping in anemonies for protection, so they may feel uncomfortable just sleeping out in the open (sort of like sleeping without a sheet or blanket if you are used to one - its just not the same)
    Albert
    My Photos

Sadly, I have lost both clowns in the last 24 hours :-(
    The only thing I can think of, is everytime I add live rock I seem to lose fish?

I am thinking as the tank is only 5 weeks old, I should wait until at lease the first 6 weeks has passed and the tank should have cycled fully the first time before I replace the clowns?? I am still not getting any apparent negative results on the water tests so I have to admit to being at a loss as to why I am losing fish?? Other than the fact that after the last two additions of live rock, I have lost fish, first a Yellow Tang, now the 2 clowns, anybody have any suggestions what I should do?

How much live rock are you adding each time?
    What other fish are currently in the tank (is this the 55g)?
    What exactly are your water parameters?
    Keep passing the open windows!

Originally posted by Brad Straw
    Sadly, I have lost both clowns in the last 24 hours :-(
    The only thing I can think of, is everytime I add live rock I seem to lose fish?