Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hello, new guy here... Couple of quick questions/concerns?

Hello all,

I've always wanted a saltwater aquarium (actually any aquarium) for many many years. I got really luckily and inherited a used full system about 3 weeks ago(tank was running for more than a year). I brought over all the water, equipment, and livestock with me.

Contents:
    55 Gallon
    100lbs Live rock
    2 yellow tang
    2 blue chromis
    2 clowns
    1 african starfish
    1 cleaner shrimp
    2 x white bulbs
    2 x blue bulbs
    100 protein skimmer
    filter (not sure of the make but it has two bio wheels)

I have been doing all the reading I can and have finished The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide by Michael S. Paletta.

I however have so many quick questions, I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction / confirm I am doing things correctly. I'd hate to kill the livestock as I'm just a newbie ;-)

So thanks in advance. Here goes,

1. Currently feeding the fish the flake food it came with (just says Marine food) once / day in the morning. Just a little shake of the can.

2. I turn on the lights at 8am and off at 8pm.

3. When the water level drops an inch, I refill will room temp. distilled bottled water (store bought) back to the top.

4. Once every two weeks I remove about 5 gallons and replace with saltwater premixed water (mixed with distilled water).

5. What do a do about the brown algae on the walls of the tank? It has been increasing over the last two weeks.

6. Temperature: roughly 76/78 but goes as high as 80 during the day as it get sunlight from the window.

7. I would like to add more coral and fish. What do I need to learn before introducing anything to the tank. I believe knowledge first... ;-)

8. Are there any sites that ship livestock to Ontario? I can't seem to find one.

9. Tested for Nitrate, it was 10

10. Tested salt it was 1.023

Thanks and look forward to joining the community here.