Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Sump/Fuge Advantages

I'm trying to explain the the wife my plans for my 67g with regards to a sump and refugium. Her question, which being a newbie I couldn't fully answer, was why not just use the Fluval Cannister filter we have as opposed to the sump? What is the big advantage other than another place to setup heaters, skimmer, etc?

Thanks for any input!

Troy
    "I'm Mad!...I'm mad 'cause I cant see my forehead!" ~ Patrick Starfish, Bikini Bottom, Ocean

One big advantage is the extra water volume.

Natural filtration...you can put macro algae in the sump to help with nitrates. You can also raise lots of pods in the fuge portion to help feed the fish in the main tank....plus it is more fun to play with a fuge than clean a filter!!
    35Gal mixed Reef with light fish load. 250W MH, Jebo Skimmer,

100Gal FOWLR- Heavy fish load and a few soft corals.

1) when you open a canister, you upset the chemical balance in the ecosystem. The sump can be cleaned easily.
    2) In-sump protein skimmers are better that HOT ones (Hang on Back)
    3) canister filters produce huge amounts of nitrates.
    Do or do not. There is no "try" - Jedi Master Yoda

The refugium, as it's name suggests is a quiete and prtected place where all sorts of small creatures and plants can live and reproduce without getting eaten by the fish in he main tank. All of these animals that are allowed to reproduce put their spawn into the water which gets back into the main tank to replenish what has been eaten by the fish. Some of this 'plankton' is also consumed by corals as it floats by their tentacles. Also, If you light up this 'fuge' you can help partially offset the ph drop that happens in a tank at night when the lightsgo off. By putting the fuge on a reverse daylight schedule and allowing the plants to produce oxygen while the main tank is consuming it, you contribute dramatically to stability of the system