Thread: Newbie Question

Question Newbie Question

Hi there everyone as you already know im a newbie with a few questions i have had my tank for about 4 months its a 33G tank with one Damsel, 7 Hermit Crabs & 2 snails.

My 1st question would be
    1. Is it better to buy smaller LR peaces or am i better off buying Larger LR peaces. (can anyone tell me where a good place to buy LR is, i live in B.C lower mainland)

2. I've had my tank for about 4 months is it okay to add a pair of clown fish?

3. Is my equipment okay for my setup i have a 33G tank with a 20W Fluorescent lamp, PH 301, 5inch Sand bead, 15LB of LR, a Aqua Clear 201, Whisper 10i, am i missing anything?

4. My goal for this tank is fish only im not really into the coral but i would like to have one anemones is my lighting strong enough or should i upgrade?

Hi and welcome to Aquaria Canada! Hope this helps you out:

1. Rock size really comes down to personal preference. I don't think it matters greatly to the tank. I like to have approximately one pound of live rock for every pound of water. You can buy it from Ivan here at Aquaria Canada or perhaps at J&L Aquatics which is in BC.

2. Have you done any water tests yet? If your ammonia is 0 and nitrates are 0 and nitrates less than 10 it is safe to add another fish.

3. You really should consider a decent protein skimmer.

4. You would have to upgrade your lighting before getting an anemone.
    Susan

Hi you need at least 4 watts per gallon of water if you want to keep an anemone. As you want to add a pair of clownfish, I would suggest you to make sure that the 2 clownfish are really a PAIR (I mean even if you see them swimming together, they may not be a pair). Otherwise, after you put the anemone in, one of the clownfish may fight against the other one to get really hurt. That happened to me.