Thread: Emergency Move

Unhappy Emergency Move

Hi everyone as u can tell i need help i have a 33G tank which was fine for about 5 months now, i've had no problems with it but today Sept 2nd 04 my tank Started to LEAK

What am i to do i already hit the LFS to get a new tank but how am i to move everything ?
    Anyone have any ideas on how to move my two clowns my clean up crew my LR & my LS please help me ............ :bawling:
    Im still a Newbie

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Simba,
    First, deep breathe, and relax.

How deep is your sand bed? If it is under 2" deep, you should be able to move the entire sandbed with no issues. If it's deeper than 2", I would suggest only keeping the top 1-2" layer of sand, and scrapping the rest to replace it with new sand in order to minimize the risk of aneorobic gasses from being released.

So.. here's how you go about this move. Get your new tank and have it ready to install. If it's the same size, you'll likely be placing it in the same place as the old one, right?

Make some saltwater (maybe 5-10 gallons), to have on-hand just in case.

Get yourself some rubbermaid storage containers if you don't have any (~$5 at walmart). They hold about 12 gallons each. Get enough to put all your water and rock and inhabitants.

Drain 1/2 of the water into these rubbermaid containers, then place your liverock, then your livestock into them, and drain the rest of the water until you're left with the sandbed only.

At this point, with only the sand bed in the tank, have someone help you take the tank off the stand and place it on the floor nearby. Place your new tank on the stand.

If your sandbed is less than 2" deep, take all the sand, and move it to the new tank. If your sandbed is over 2" deep, and you wish to maintain a DeepStandBed in your new tank, get some new sand into the new tank, then only take the top 1-2" layer of sand from your old tank and put it on top of the new sand in the new tank.