Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bioload?

Bioload?

Just want to ask what type of bioload I have; low, medium or high. I'd like to add some more corals but am unsure if it would be safe. Its a 29g, 33 pounds clr, 4inch bed, NO lights and skimmer less.

2 1 inch damsel fish
    4 hermit crabs
    1 scarlet red crab
    2 emerald crabs
    1 blood shrimp
    1 small candy cane
    1 small sun polyp
    1 feather duster

Ive been testing every 2 days for the last 2 months and nitrate never gets above 5ppm. Would there be room for maybe 3-4 more corals?

Thanks
    James

I'd call that a low bioload. You could probably add another couple small fish to that tank but the challenge will be getting ones that the damsels won't beat up on.

More corals shouldn't be a problem as long as they have space between them to grow.
    Susan

Thank you Flame.
    I dont think we will be adding more fish because these ones have staked out their turfs already but adding more corals is what I wanted to know. I know Im limited because of light but they are so nice to look at.

Too many corals isn't a problem. Except:

- if they grow too close together some can sting each other
    - others have a toxic slime that mixed can cause a chemical warfare
    - some have incredibly long stinging streamers that only come out at night but can sting other corals like 6" away

Best thing is to post what corals you're considering and what you have and we can help you decide if it would work or not.
    Susan

Hrmmm lets see,

Brain
    Hammer
    Pearl Bubble
    Xenia
    Derasa or squamosa clam

Not saying that I will add all these to the system but knowing what I could have would be nice.

Thanks again

James