Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174

    Moving a power head from FW?

    Hey all,

    Is there anything I have to do to move a power head from a FW tank? I have an extra one that I had been using on my discus tank.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    Unplug it!:biggrinbo
    Derik...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    As long as it was saltwater safe ( and most are) when you bought it do as Derik says ... just move it over.
    Rob

  4. #4
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Cool I thought I might have to soak it in something first or lord knows what else

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    well you might as well do the cleaning maintenance to it while your moving it. Only takes a few minutes.
    Rob

  6. #6
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    For me that's a rince in warm water & perhaps an old toothbrush

    This power head hasn't been used in over a year. I snapped the shaft that you turn to set the size of the intake & put it in the pile of "to be fixed when I have nothing better to do."

    I finally got around to getting the part & fired it up okay

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    There you go then.
    Rob

  8. #8
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    Is it a hagen 802?
    Derik...

  9. #9
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Pro 3, same type Ivan has on sale / auction. I bid on one to get a spare.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  10. #10
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Holy crap that makes a difference lol. Even at the lowest setting I have to bounce it off the back wall of the tank.

    Is it safe to assume that coral won't open / extend polyps if it's upset with the increased flow? I'm at 150gph in a 10g tank. The sun polyp looks like it's blowing in the wind but it's not closing up...

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Maxi-Jet power head?
    By sreist in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2005, 06:02 PM
  2. Power Head Mods
    By ShipWreck in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-27-2005, 02:47 PM
  3. pro 3 power head question
    By redbelly in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2005, 12:36 AM
  4. Power head
    By LT Hook in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-05-2005, 01:18 PM
  5. FS: 425 GPH Power Head
    By Doo-e in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2004, 12:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •