Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Senior Member ak_sniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    631

    Auto Top-Off/Dosing system possible ?

    Ive seen somewhere on RC I think it was, someone had a Kalk Reactor which was connected to the RO/DI directly and which also served as a top off for the tank.

    What im trying to achieve is a similar setup but not using a Kalk reactor. What I want to do is have say one container which contains RO/DI top off water where you can also add kalk to it, and then from that container it tops off into the tank and also doses kalk at the same time.

    Is this possible ? What im trying to avoid is having a drip dosing system and the auto top off system to save space in my cabinet.

    All your ideas and suggestions are appreciated!

    AK

  2. #2
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Isn't kalk normally dripped as top off water? I thought you were supposed to match the drip rate to your evap rate.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  3. #3
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    It's not suggested to have the RO/DI filter directly act as a top-off. The constant on/off cycling puts undue stress on the filter and allows impurities to make it's way through to your tank.

    It's also not efficient to have kalk mixed in a container exposed to air.

    Ideally, you want to have the RO/DI filter replenish a freshwater container that houses a high and low switch (top-off unit with a latching circuit) controlling a solenoid on your filter which opens water flow as needed. This freshwater container in-turn feeds your kalk reactor and subsequently your tank by way of an auto top-off unit.

    I use this exact system with my tank, and it works flawlessly.

    I sell these top-off units (sump and latching circuit style) relatively cheap. If you're interested, PM me.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    Vince .. I don't understand this thing about the filter being stressed by on and off operation. Were they not designed originally to be used right at the kitchen sink for drinking water where they would be subjected to chronic on and off operation?
    Rob

  5. #5
    Senior Member CanadianGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    638
    Rob,

    Running an RO from the tap is bad for the filter for several reasons.
    1. Everytime you remove the water pressure, you have to let it run for a while and resoak the membrane.
    2. The TDS levels will be elevated until the membrane is saturated again.
    3. The filter will be very inefficient until the membrane becomes saturated, so you'll be waisting a lot more water.
    4. The RO membrane can dry out between uses.

    All of those things stress the membrane and lead to early failure. It might not be bad if you don't use that much RO water, but it can add up quickly when you're constantly buying replacements.
    James...

    "Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    If the unit is hooked up and "on" ... and the shut off is at the output line after the units filters the unit would always be full of water and under house water pressure right up to that turn off valve. This is why I don't understand this. I could see an issue if the unit were to drain every time it is not in use.
    Rob

  7. #7
    Senior Member CanadianGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    638
    I'm sorry, I slightly misread the question.

    The reason it isn't a good idea even if the filter is under pressure, is the constant on and off of the filter is very innefficient. Even if it remains under pressure between uses it still needs to run a little before you're getting the pure water that you bought the filter for in the first place.
    Think of it like a warm engine vs a cold engine...it runs better and burns less gas once it's warmed up. It's also less hard on the engine to keep it running, instead of constant starting and stopping.
    James...

    "Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE

  8. #8
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Rob,

    Aquasafe sells a filter model that comes with a 3.2gal pressurized tank for constant on/off water usage (ie: kitchen sink situation). When the tank loses pressure, a mechanical solenoid "opens the tap" and fills the pressurized tank with water.

    Check out their site here:
    http://www.aquasafecanada.com/5%20st...o%20system.htm

    This way, the filter isn't constantly being cycled on and off.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    Dose anybody have any TADS numbers to indicator just how much dirtier the "first" water is from the balance of the water that will follow it?
    Rob

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    How is that tank pressurized? By the unit?
    Rob

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. auto top off system by JBJ
    By reefsurfer in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 01:47 PM
  2. Auto Dosing Phytoplankton
    By zeblisik in forum Live Food and Algae
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 05:09 PM
  3. Auto top off system
    By fish in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 01:04 PM
  4. Tsunami auto Top off system
    By Peluche in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-03-2005, 05:18 PM
  5. FS: Tsunami AT-1 Auto Top off system
    By clown_fish in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-14-2004, 12:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •