Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Temperature variation Night/Day ?

Hi,

I just want to know what will be a normal temperature
    variation between Day and Night.

I saw 76.8 at night and 80.0 max here...is it too much?
    (I have nothing much than crabs and hermits yet...starting system)

Is stable temperature better than small variation?

Let me know with your experience.

Thanks

stable temp is of course always better, but since i dont have a chiller, i also have temp swings (low ~77 - high ~81). nobody seems to mind though.
    Albert
    My Photos

I read somewhere that corals and such do not like anything over 5 degree variance, can not remember the source. I have wood heat myself! Many times in the morning I am seeing 73-74 to a max of 80. Don't need a chiller but I am looking into a better quality heater
    I have a less expensive Thermo tech 150watt in my 20g
    I'm going to buy an Ebo to see if that helps. No adverse affects as of yet though but, I am just starting out!
    Cheers

Nanosteve, you won't regret an Ebo heater, Ive had mine in my new tank for the past 2 weeks, has kept my temp stable since cycle started. Stable as in my temp always stays between 78-79.5...the highs are due to slow temperature climbs after the lights have been on for a while, after the lights go out and in mornings and such, temp always stays around that lower range.

AK
    20G Reef Tank (Starting again...)

I had a huge ICK problem last year and the LFS guy told me to up my temp...I did and I haven;t had ICK since (Knock on wood!) BUT my temp is about 84 all the time. Is this bad? None of my livestock seem to mind!
    :fish3:Piatchie:fish3:

Why is it called "cargo" when it goes by ship, and "shipment" when it goes by car?