Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

protein skimmers

Do I need a protein skimmer? I've been running a 30 gal tank for about 6 months now with 35 lbs of live rock as my only filtration. I didn't get a protein skimmer because the guy at the LFS told me I didn't need one. I'm not having any problems but the more I learn about reef aquariums the more I think I should get one.

If yes, does anyone have any suggestions on what type and size I should get. I certainly don't want some ugly box in my tank.

Cheers

what LFS was this?? don't talk to that person anymore.
    225g SSB display, World Fish Custom Sump/Fuge/Filter, H&S A250-2X1260, h&S sulphur reactor, Reeflo Dart 3600g return on a wavy sea plus, 4X Tunze 6101, Deltec PF600, Octopus 3000, Aquazone Ozone 100,
    Lights: 2X250W 10K XMs, 1X400W10K XM, 6XT5s Al lights controlled by AC Jr.

i would suggest you an Aqua-C Remora...
    if you have a sump and you think about upgrading later on, i would suggest you having a bigger skimmer.

For the moment, the Aqua-C Remora is good enough!
    Richard

Hobby Experience: Newbie
    600G system, Sifligoi3x400w with ACLS units, 2xH&S A200-2x1260, Schuran Jetstream 2 Ca reactor, 4xVortech Pump, Tunze Stream 6200, Tunze Wavebox, 4xWavy Sea Plus wavemaker, Oceans Motions 4 way, Prolifux Wireless Controller, Red Sea 100mg Ozonizer, Seachem Pinnacle 200GPD RO/DI

It was Big Al's. I thought they new what they were talking about, untill I bought some ick from them :guns:

The LFS guy said I wouldn't need one for my size tank, that the live rock would be enough.

Lifereef products have a really good name. I can't wait to get my skimmer wet. Rumor has it that Harley here makes really good acrylic products for alot less than you would pay in a LFS. Just a thought.
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott