Angry Hair algae on glass, not on rocks

I have been battling a hair algae problem for six months now. The algae always appears on glass, but none whatsoever on my live rocks, and on the sand bed.

I always siphon out as much as I could when doing water changes, but they always grow back no matter what I tried.

I am wondering what biological control can I apply to keep it in check (i.e. what eats it).

System: 37gal no sump, 20W NO flourescent, lighting period had been cut down to 7 hours a day. No corals, just fish and a cleaner shrimp, 4 blue legged hermits and 4 astrea snails. Prizm skimmer, 1x MJ1200 and 2x MJ600 for water flow. I dose C-Balance and keep my alk and Ca at 2.9meq/L and 425ppm respectively. The tank is setup for 1 year now.

I get reasonable growth of coraline on the glass given the lighting I have, but could never get enough coverage on the glass to prevent the hair algae. In fact, the hair algae even finds the space to grow on the coraline.

Please advise on what I can do to wipe out the hair algae.
    If the authors of "Finding Nemo" knew anything about Clownfishes, Marlin would turn into a female and Nemo would become her new husband.

ijo
    Give Turbo snails a try... they are real good cleaners... the only downfall is their ability to knock over things... but if this is a FOLR setup.. I wouldn't worry about it.

IJO

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Do you use filtered water or tap water?
    You may want to check your phosphate levels...
    Maybe your lighting has aged to a point that it is causing algae growth? How old is the lighting?
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

like everyone said, test your chemistry (run some phosgurad in your filter if you have phosphates or silicates) and get some more snails.
    Albert
    My Photos

"4 blue legged hermits and 4 astrea snails" and you have a 37 gallon?