Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

supper nitrate spike?

My nitrate levels are right off my test kits chart. I have been doing water changes for about 1 1/2 months now and it's not going down. Hair algea is going wild now. I heard that macro would help a little so if anyone has any for sale in the orleans area let me know. Also I think the nitrates may be accumulating from lack of flow so also if you have any power heads for sale let me know. Any other suggestions?

I am running a fluval 404 canister with nitrazorb and carbon, Also a prizm skimmer. I know I know, I need a better skimmer but I don't have any money left for a skimmer right now.

You should look into setting up a sump with a refuge. That would help with the flow issue. You can then grow some macro algaes in the refuge to help lower the nitrates.

try this link for some DIY sump ideas. http://www.melevsreef.com/
    TANK -35 Gallon with 15 gallon sump/fuge
    LIGHTS - T5HO 36" 165 total watts
    FLOW - Mag 7, fluval 304, 201 powerhead
    OTHER - seaclone 100 skimmer, RO/DI water

yes I do whant to set up a sump but right now I am in the process of getting a $3500 bill for my van so IT is not going to happen for quite a while now. I just don't have the cash for the return pump, and overflow box, and plumbing, and a good skimmer, etc....
    So I figure if I get some macro and just keep it welll pruned in the display and that may help!
    I will check out the link though for future use thanks! Any other ideas?