Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Coworker madness

Hey!

I'm new to the forum.

A coworker (Dazz) is trying to bring me down into his reef madness. I have resisted so far, but his propaganda slowly finds its way into my mind.

I'm new to saltwater, but I successfully owned a freshwater tropical fish tank a few years ago. I had experienced very few deaths... none by my fault (One got trapped into the filter, and a few others were simply too yummy for my Oscar).

My concerns for now are really simple ones. I move a lot, I plan to move again next year to find a bigger appartment or to buy something. It seems really complicated with a big fish tank (I dont want something smaller than 50g-60g) and all its inhabitants. The other thing is that I live on the second floor of my building. I really fear water leak accidents. I can only imagine how a 60g water tank would damage the building and my insurance wouldn't pay. Is there a way to really secure the thing and minimize the risks to "Impossible to happen"?

Thanks!

Freaky

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    First of all....

[welcome2]

Secondly, you poor soul, you know Dazz too?? And actually WORK with him??? (just kidding Dazz)

Moving around might be an issue. As things with saltwater tanks normally tend to take about a year to really take off.. I'm speaking of water stability, coral growth, fish relationships, etc... However if you're dedicated, and if the move is properly done, minimal stress can be accounted for.

Water leaks... the all so feared "flood"....
    Many things can be done to avoid floods.
    - Use a tank with a built-in overflow towards the sump. Hang-on overflows are notoriously problematic.
    - Use a large sump that can handle extra water during a power outage. When power goes out, water will siphon down into the sump. You want to be able to account for that extra inrush of water.
    - Keep anti-siphon holes clean, and checkvalves clean.