Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Water Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member DuuhMojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    658

    Water Question

    OK,

    So my city water, I'm living in Ottawa uses Chloromine to treat the water.

    Now since I didn't plan on buying a RO/DI unit for a while I was wondering
    what my options are. Is anyone using Ottawa city water? How will I treat it.
    etc....


    Cheers

    Marcus

  2. #2
    ijo
    ijo is offline
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,610
    If your not going to get yourself an RO/Di unit... make sure you treat the water with a conditioner(the same type used for fresh water). Not going with an RO/DI unit will more than likely increase your algae outbreaks but it can be done. I would also run the water through a carbon filter to make sure no Chloromine makes it into your setup. HTH

    IJO

  3. #3
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Depends what you want to put in the tank & when you want to do it.

    I used tap water to fill my tank. I only use RO/DI for top off & partials. There's several people that have done the same.

    But you'll likely have a nastier & potentially longer algea phase.

    I would recommend getting the RO/DI filter it's going to make things easier in the long run & provide you with more options later.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  4. #4
    Moderator cres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1,963
    I would advise using bottled RO/DI water if you can.

    You should be able to get it for less than $3 per 5 gallon jug.

    If you use straight tap water, make sure you use a water conditioner that is rated to remove Chloramine.

    Running it through carbon only, will remove the Chlorine and leave Ammonia (Chloramine is Chlorine+Ammonia).

    If you are using a skimmer, you should make sure the conditioner doesn't add "stress coat" or any other oily substance. This will disrupt skimming.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member DuuhMojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    658
    OK so what kind/size of RO/DI unit would I need? I'm going to be going with a
    50-65 gallon tank. Also what differs for the RO/DI unit if you have chloromine as apposed to chlorine in the water? What do these things run in price?

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    For the price difference get the 100GPD filter. Other than than, if you want to use it for drinking water as well, get a 5G pressurised tank to hook up to it.

    I believe all of the above ca be purchased here.

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  7. #7
    Senior Member DuuhMojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    658
    So I read the write up and the reviews on the site for the 100GPD filter unit.
    It keepse talking about chlorine, what about chloramine? Does it clean that out too?

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Yep, otherwise the people in Ottawa using one of these would be boned
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  9. #9
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Yes it will. The output water will be 0 TDS.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  10. #10
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    It'll take a bit to get down to 0 TDS. Fresh filters will actually put some crap into the water after they've removed the gunk out of the city water.

    You should leave it run for the first 20 gallons or so (min) and discard that water.

    If you have a TDS meter, anything under 10 is okay, and it took me about a week to go from 4 TDS to 0 after changing everything but my membrane. (My top-off is plugged into the RO/DI filter. I turned the auto-top off & kalk reactor back on once the TDS dropped below 5).

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. got my new sump! please help with water level question
    By gerry45 in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-01-2006, 07:45 PM
  2. Another Cloudy Water Question
    By colesy in forum Water Quality
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 11:05 PM
  3. water question
    By redbelly in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-02-2005, 07:55 PM
  4. Water flow question & debris
    By jklink in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 05:34 AM
  5. Question about Water Flow Rate
    By One Salty Dog in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-14-2003, 04:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •