Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie intro

Newbie intro

Hey guys, im so new to this hobby that i dont even have a tank yet I have never had any desire to have a saltwater setup, i keep freshwater fish and they suit me just fine. My husband on the other hand, who has absolutely no interest in my freshwater fishies has decided he'd like a saltwater fish. Just one. In a 120gal tank, and since i do the whole fish thing i've been designated to be this fish's keeper. Soooooooo, i am studying up on what i need and i stumbled across this place! im so happy you guys are here and rockgarden has already made me feel very welcome!!!!

I've already posted this Q on another fish forum and i know some of you are members of the ovas as well so please bear with me, im just trying to get as much info as possible from as many folks as possible

So my Q is: What is the bare minimum setup i need for a puffer fish?? What kind of puffer im not exactly sure of, whatever kind they have at the LFS (not the freshwater puffer)

My husband went into the LFS with cash in hand ready to drop it on a 30g SW setup but he was talked out of it and into something that doesnt fit into his budget. I wasnt there, but i think this LFS was trying to hose him and it has been my experience that the salespeople at these types of places really dont know what they are talking about and are just trying to take your $$$. Since my husband and i are both clueless i figured if anyone would know it would be you guys

I appreciate any input

Sarah

HI Sarah.

Don't know much about puffer fish, but Welcome to Aquaria.ca!
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

Puffers can get quite big depending on the species, you could be looking at a 6 foot long tank. Arothron meleagris can reach 18 - 20".

I believe there's some puffers that would fit into a 50 gallon or so tank, but I've not really looked into it. Maybe a spotted puffer? (Canthigaster species).