Net a newbie but...

Hello, aquarium folks.

I've been keeping marine tanks for over 20 years. In my current setup I've been having a great deal of success with fish and inverts. My 90 gallon tank has three tomato clowns (4.5", 2.5", and 1.5"), a 4" yellow tang, a 6" narrow line puffer, a 3" blue damsel, a 2" neon damsel, a pair of blue gree chromis, a pair of 4 stripe damsels, and three black bar chromis. I've also got a good population of hermie crabs (scarlet and blue legged) as well as a large spotted hermit (red legs with blue spots in a 3" shell) and a mid-sized grey hermit in a 2" shell. I've also got a good number of snails working on my back glass and had a good population of brown and black nudibrancs until the puffer came along. I've got a 2" thick bed of live sand, lots of light and dark purple coraline algae, a healthy population of amphipods and a healthy population of mysis shrimp.

The last time I tried to keep coral was back before live sand beds were used (back in the wet/dry and fluidized bed days.) My wife Anita and I have been building a straw bale house since the spring of 2002 and moved the aquarium from where it was parked at my parent's house just over a year ago. I've got a dedicated wet room which was designed to service a 270 gallon glass. It's going to be a while before we can afford to build the new glass and supporting infrastructure so I'm running the 90 gallon tank for now. When I first brought the tank here I was running the same wet/dry that I'd had under the tank since I got it from my uncle 20 years ago. It was a column on BioBalls over a bed of coran sand (very coarse) and a sump. After I found out about live sand I ripped our the coarse coral sand in the sump and put a good 2" layer of fins aragonite in the tank. Things seem to be working much better.